Legal Research in a Nutshell by Kent Olson

Call Number: KF240 .C54 2021
ISBN: 9781636590639
Publication Date: 2021-05-06

You might also enjoy:

• Principles of Legal Research links
• Treatises and Services by Subject

§ 9-2. Preliminary Research

• Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
• Encyclopedia of Private International Law (Elgar Online)
• Oppenheim's International Law (OPIL)
• Foreign and International Law Resources Databases (HeinOnline)
• Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (HeinOnline)
• Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law (Oxford Reference)

§ 9-3. U.S. Practice in International Law
     a. Treaties

• The Oxford Guide to Treaties (OPIL)
• Treaties and Other International Agreements 1776-1949 (Bevans)
• Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS)
• U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library (HeinOnline)
• Frequently-Cited Treaties & Other International Instruments (University of Minnesota)
• Treaties in Force
• Treaties in Force (HeinOnline)
• Kavass's Guide to the United States Treaties in Force (HeinOnline)
• Kavass's Current Treaty Index (HeinOnline)
• Treaty documents (Congress.gov)

     b. Foreign Relations Documents

• Digest of U.S. Practice in International Law
• U.S. Law Digests (HeinOnline)
• Foreign Relations of the United States (University of Wisconsin)
• Historical Documents (Department of State)
• Foreign Relations of the United States (HeinOnline)

§ 9-4. General Treaty Research

• United Nations Treaty Collection
• World Treaty Library (HeinOnline)
• Oxford Historical Treaties
• OAU/AU Treaties, Conventions, Protocols & Charters
• Council of Europe Treaty Office
• OAS Department of International Law
• Hague Conference on Private International Law
• Flare Index to Treaties
• Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General
• Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora
• Treaties, States Parties and Commentaries (ICRC) [Geneva Conventions]
• The United Nations Convention Against Torture and Its Optional Protocol: A Commentary (OPIL)
• The UN Convention on the Rights of the Child: A Commentary (OPIL)
• Collected Travaux Préparatoires
• UN Human Rights Traties: Travaux Préparatoires

§ 9-5. Cases and Arbitrations
     a. International Court of Justice

• International Court of Justice
• International Court of Justice (HeinOnline)
• The Elgar Companion to the International Court of Justice (Elgar Online)
• Rosenne’s Law and Practice of the International Court
• The Statute of the International Court of Justice: A Commentary (OPIL)

     b. Other Courts

• Manual on International Courts and Tribunals (OPIL)
• International Courts & Tribunals Collection (WorldLII)
• Oxford Reports on Intermational Law
• International Criminal Court
• The Elgar Companion to the International Criminal Court (Elgar Online)
• The International Criminal Court: A Commentary on the Rome Statute (OPIL)
• The Oxford Companion to International Criminal Justice (OPIL)
• International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea
• European Court of Justice
• European Court of Human Rights
• The European Convention on Human Rights: A Commentary (OPIL)
• Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
• Inter-American Court of Human Rights
• IACHR Project (Loyola of Los Angeles)
• African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights
• African Human Rights Case La Analyser
• International Law Reports (vLex)
• International Crimes Database
• UNILEX
• Institute of International Commercial Law
• Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts (CLOUT)
• ECOLEX

     c. Arbitrations

• Reports of International Arbitral Awards
• Reports of International Arbitral Awards (HeinOnline)
• Kluwer Arbitration
• The Principles and Practice of International Commercial Arbitration (Cambridge Core)
• Practitioner's Handbook on International Commercial Arbitration (Oxford Legal Research Library)

§ 9-6. International Organizations
     a. United Nations and Related Agencies

• United Nations
• United Nations Handbook
• The Charter of the United Nations: A Commentary (OPIL)
• Oppenheim's International Law: United Nations (OPIL)
• The Oxford Handbook on the United Nations (Oxford Handbooks Online)
• Yearbook of the United Nations
• United Nations Digital Library
• Official Document System of the United Nations
• United Nations Law Collection (HeinOnline)
• Research Guides (Dag Hammarsköld Library)
• UN Specialized Agencies (Dag Hammarsköld Library)

     b. World Trade Organization

• World Trade Organization
• WorldTradeLaw.net

     c. European Union and Other Regional Organizations

• European Union
• Eur-Lex
• The Oxford Handbook of European Union Law (Oxford Handbooks Online)
• African Union
• Council of Europe
• Organization of American States
• International Encyclopaedia of Laws: Intergovernmental Organizations
• The Oxford Handbook of International Organizations (Oxford Handbooks Online)
• Yearbook of International Organizations

§ 9-7. Sources for Further Information

• ASIL Electronic Resource Guide [no longer publicly accessible]
• GlobaLex