Legal Research in a Nutshell by Kent Olson

Call Number: KF240 .C54 2021
ISBN: 9781636590639
Publication Date: 2021-05-06

You might also enjoy:

• Principles of Legal Research links
• Treatises and Services by Subject

§ 8-2. Practice-Focused Resources

• Bloomberg Law
• Thomson Reuters Checkpoint
• Wolters Kluwer VitalLaw [formerly Cheetah]

§ 8-3. Current Awareness

• Google Alerts

     a. Legal Newspapers and Newsletters

• Law.com
• ABA Journal Daily News
• JURIST
• Law360

     b. Current Scholarship

• Current Index to Legal Periodicals (HeinOnline)
• Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

     c. Blogs and Other Online Resources

• SCOTUSblog
• ABA Journal Blawg Directory [2007-2019]
• Justia BlawgSearch

§ 8-4. Legal History Resources

• A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates
• The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
• Legal Classics (HeinOnline)
• Early American Imprints
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
• Early English Books Online
• HathiTrust Digital Library
• Internet Archive’s Text Archive
• Google Books
• America’s Historical Newspapers
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers
• Newspapers.com
• The Documentary History of the Supreme Court, 1789–1800 (HeinOnline)
• LLMC Digital
• Judicial Cases Concerning American Slavery and the Negro (HeinOnline)
• The Cambridge History of Law in America (Cambridge Core)
• A History of English Law (HeinOnline)
• Oxford Handbook of European Legal History (Oxford Handbooks Online)
• The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History (Oxford Reference)
• Oxford Handbook of Legal History (Oxford Handbooks Online)
• Prestatehood Legal Materials (HeinOnline)
• Index to Legal Periodical Literature (HeinOnline)
• Bibliography of Early American Law (HeinOnline)

§ 8-5. Interdisciplinary Research

• LibGuides Community
• Web of Science
• Gale Academic OneFile
• EBSCO Academic Search Complete
• ProQuest Central
• IngentaConnect
• JSTOR
• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
• WorldCat
• Library of Congress Catalog

§ 8-6. Factual and Business Information

• Dow Jones Factiva
• Google News
• Free Public Records Directory
• EDGAR
• Mergent Online
• Data Axle

§ 8-7. Statistics

• Statistics & Reports (U.S. Courts)
• Court Statistics Project (NCSC)
• Uniform Crime Reports
• Bureau of Justice Statistics
• Legal Profession Statistics (ABA)
• Census of Population and Housing
• Economic Census
• North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
• Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
• Statistical Abstract Series (Census Bureau)
• Historical Statistics of the United States
• Gallup, Inc.
• Roper Center for Public Opinion Research

§ 8-8. Legal Directories

• Martindale.com
• Leadership Connect
• NALP Directory of Legal Employers
• Legal Directories Publishing Co.
• Associations Unlimited
• AssociationExecs.com