Arthur J. Morris Law Library
Nutshell Links
Chapter 1. The Research Process
11
Westlaw <www.westlaw.com>
Lexis <www.lexis.com>
* LexisNexis Academic <www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/>
Westlaw Campus Research <campus.westlaw.com>
* Loislaw [now LoislawConnect] <estore.loislaw.com>
VersusLaw <www.versuslaw.com>
* Casemaker <www.casemaker.us>
Fastcase <www.fastcase.com>
12
FindLaw <lp.findlaw.com>
Legal Information Institute <www.law.cornell.edu>
Google <www.google.com>
Lexis Web <www.lexisweb.com>
13
* Law Dictionary (FindLaw) <dictionary.findlaw.com>
Law.com Dictionary <dictionary.law.com>
15
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation <www.legalbluebook.com>
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation <www.law.cornell.edu/citation/>
16
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations <www.legalabbrevs.cardiff.ac.uk>
19
Westlaw Database Directory <directory.westlaw.com>
28
Searchable Directory of Online Sources (Lexis) <w3.nexis.com/sources/>
31
Public Library of Law <www.plol.org>
* LexisONE [no longer available]
33
Wikipedia <www.wikipedia.org>
Chapter 2. Background and Analysis
57
* IndexMaster <www.indexmaster.org>
61
* HeinOnline <home.heinonline.org>
American Law Institute <www.ali.org>
63
* LexisNexis Academic <www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/>
65
* HeinOnline <home.heinonline.org>
67
* WilsonWeb [now Wilson Databases] <www.ebscohost.com/wilson>
* InfoTrac [now Gale Databases] <find.galegroup.com/menu/commonmenu.do>
68
JSTOR <www.jstor.org>
69
Google Scholar <scholar.google.com>
* Law Journals (USC Law Library) [no longer available]
Berkeley Electronic Press <www.bepress.com>
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) <www.ssrn.com>
91
* Casemaker <www.casemaker.us>
Fastcase <www.fastcase.com>
* Loislaw [now LoislawConnect] <estore.loislaw.com>
VersusLaw <www.versuslaw.com>
92
Google Scholar <scholar.google.com>
* LexisONE [no longer available]
119
* Supreme Court of the United States <www.supremecourt.gov>
Supreme Court Historical Society <www.supremecourthistory.org>
120
SCOTUSblog <www.scotusblog.com>
122
* HeinOnline <home.heinonline.org>
* Supreme Court (LII) <www.law.cornell.edu/supct/>
125
Justia US Supreme Court Center <supreme.justia.com>
Public Library of Law <www.plol.org>
126
* Court Locator (U.S. Courts) <www.uscourts.gov/court_locator.aspx>
131
Justia <www.justia.com>
District Courts (FindLaw) <www.findlaw.com/10fedgov/judicial/district_courts.html>
132
State Court Organization 2004 <bjs.ojp.usdoj.gov/content/pub/pdf/sco04.pdf>
* State Court Structure Charts (NCSC) <www.courtstatistics.org/Other-Pages/State_Court_Structure_Charts.aspx>
138
Oklahoma State Courts Network <www.oscn.net>
North Dakota Supreme Court <www.ndcourts.gov>
State Resources (FindLaw) <www.findlaw.com/11stategov/>
139
* National Tribal Justice Resource Center [offline]
Tribal Court Clearinghouse <www.tribal-institute.org>
Chapter 4. Statutes and Constitutions
175
Federal Digital System (FDSys) (GPO) <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/>
THOMAS <thomas.loc.gov>
176
* HeinOnline <home.heinonline.org>
Statutes at Large (Library of Congress) <memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwsl.html>
178
United States Code (Office of the Law Revision Counsel) <uscode.house.gov>
179
United States Code (LII) <www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/>
183
* State Legislatures Internet Links <www.ncsl.org/about-us/ncslservice/state-legislative-websites-directory.aspx>
185
Law by Source: State (LII) <www.law.cornell.edu/states/listing.html>
* FindLaw: Cases and Codes <www.findlaw.com/casecode/>
188
* Topical Index: State Statutes <topics.law.cornell.edu/wex/state_statutes>
189
Martindale.com <www.martindale.com> [search "Groups & Topics]
191
NCCUSL Drafts and Final Acts <www.law.upenn.edu/bll/ulc/ulc.htm>
Uniform Laws <www.law.cornell.edu/uniform/>
192
* National Center for Interstate Compacts <www.csg.org/ncic/>
193
Founding Documents (Constitution Society) <www.constitution.org/cs_found.htm>
194
* Constitution of the United States<www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectiontab.action>
195
Farrand’s Records and Elliot’s Debates (Library of Congress) <memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/>
196
The Founders’ Constitution <press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/>
197
Constitutions of the United States: National and State <www.oceanalaw.com>
The Rise of Modern Constitutionalism, 1776-1849 <www.modern-constitutions.de>
NBER/Maryland State Constitutions Project <www.stateconstitutions.umd.edu>
Chapter 5. Legislative Research
218
* How Our Laws Are Made and Enactment of a Law <thomas.loc.gov/home/laws_made.html>
220
THOMAS <thomas.loc.gov>
Federal Digital System (FDSys) (GPO) <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/>
227
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation <memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/>
229
U.S. Senate <www.senate.gov>
U.S. House of Representatives <www.house.gov>
230
Congressional Budget Office (CBO) <www.cbo.gov>
231
Government Accountability Office (GAO) <www.gao.gov>
* Open CRS <opencrs.com>
* Congressional Research Service Reports <digital.library.unt.edu/explore/collections/crsr/>
Guide to CRS Reports on the Web <www.llrx.com/features/crsreports.htm>
233
Legislative Source Book <www.llsdc.org/sourcebook/>
235
Commercial Legislative Histories of U.S. Laws on the Internet
<www.llsdc.org/leg-hist-commercial>
THOMAS <thomas.loc.gov>
236
Federal Digital System (FDSys) (GPO) <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/>
237
* ProQuest Congressional [was LexisNexis Congressional] <congressional.proquest.com>
242
CQ Library <library.cqpress.com>
* CQ Roll Call <corporate.cqrollcall.com>
The Hill <www.thehill.com>
* GalleryWatch.com [now part of CQ Roll Call]
245
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation <memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/>
Congressional Staff Directory <library.cq.com/csd/>
* Congressional Yellow Book <www.leadershipdirectories.com>
246
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress <bioguide.congress.gov>
247
* State Legislatures Internet Links <www.ncsl.org/about-us/ncslservice/state-legislative-websites-directory.aspx>
248
State Legislatures, State Laws, and State Regulations: Website Links and Telephone Numbers <www.llsdc.org/state-leg/>
249
State Legislative History Research Guides on the Web <www.law.indiana.edu/lawlibrary/research/guides/statelegislative/>
250
Initiative & Referendum Institute <www.iandrinstitute.org>
264
Federal Agencies Directory (LSU) <www.lib.lsu.edu/gov/>
Federal Agencies (WashLaw) <www.washlaw.edu/doclaw/executive5m.html>
265
USA.gov <www.usa.gov>
* Washington Information Directory <library.cqpress.com/wid/>
266
* United States Government Manual <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=GOVMAN>
267
Carroll’s Federal Directory <www.govsearch.com>
Federal Staff Directory <library.cq.com>
* Federal Yellow Book <www.leadershipdirectories.com>
269
Office of the Federal Register <www.federalregister.gov>
271
Reginfo.gov <www.reginfo.gov>
Regulations.gov <www.regulations.gov>
272
OpenRegs.com <openregs.com>
281
Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service <www.aphis.usda.gov>
* Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press <www.rcfp.org>
282
A Citizen’s Guide on Using the Freedom of Information Act
<www.fas.org/sgp/foia/citizen.pdf>
283
* HeinOnline <home.heinonline.org>
LLMC Digital <www.llmcdigital.org>
* Administrative Decisions (University of Virginia Library) <guides.lib.virginia.edu/administrative_decisions>
286
* Office of Legal Counsel <www.justice.gov/olc/opinions.htm>
287
American Presidency Project <www.presidency.ucsb.edu>
288
* Executive Order Disposition Tables <www.archives.gov/federal-register/executive-orders/>
291
State Government Information <www.loc.gov/rr/news/stategov/>
State Blue Books <wikis.ala.org/godort/index.php/State_Blue_Books>
293
Administrative Codes and Registers Section of the NASS <www.administrativerules.org>
National Governors Association <www.nga.org>
294
National Association of Attorneys General <www.naag.org>
295
* State FOI <www.nfoic.org/state-foi>
* Open Government Guide <www.rcfp.org/open-government-guide>
296
State and Local Government on the Net <www.statelocalgov.net>
American Legal Publishing Corp. <www.amlegal.com/library/>
Municipal Code Corporation <www.municode.com>
* Municipal Codes Online (Seattle Public Library) [no longer available]
International Code Council <www.iccsafe.org>
Building Code Reference Library <www.reedconstructiondata.com/building-codes/>
Public.Resource.org <bulk.resource.org/codes.gov/>
Chapter 7. Court Rules and Practice
310
Procedural Documents (U.S. House Committee on the Judiciary) <judiciary.house.gov/about/procedural.html>
* Federal Rulemaking (U.S. Courts) <www.uscourts.gov/RulesAndPolicies.aspx>
Federal Rules (LII) <www.law.cornell.edu/rules/>
311
* Court Locator (U.S. Courts) <www.uscourts.gov/court_locator.aspx>
LLRX Court Rules, Forms and Dockets <www.llrx.com/courtrules>
* Court Rules (Supreme Court) <www.supremecourt.gov/ctrules/ctrules.aspx>
312
* Federal Sentencing Guidelines Manuals <www.ussc.gov/Guidelines/>
314
* State Court Web Sites (NCSC) <www.ncsc.org/Information-and-Resources/Browse-by-State/State-Court-Websites.aspx>
315
* Links to Ethics Pages (ABA) <www.americanbar.org/groups/professional_responsibility/resources/links_of_interest.html>
American Legal Ethics Library <www.law.cornell.edu/ethics/listing.html>
317
* ABA Center for Professional Responsibility <www.americanbar.org/groups/professional_responsibility.html>
318
* Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases
<www.americanbar.org/publications/preview_home.html>
319
* Supreme Court of the United States <www.supremecourt.gov>
Oyez Project <www.oyez.org>
320
* United States Law Week <www.bna.com/united-states-law-week-p5949/>
321
* PACER <www.pacer.gov >
* PACER Case Locator <www.pacer.gov/pcl.html >
Free and Fee Based Appellate Court Briefs Online
<www.llrx.com/features/briefsonline.htm>
322
CNN <www.cnn.com>
Office of the Solicitor General <www.justice.gov/osg/>
323
Legal Dockets Online <www.legaldockets.com>
* LexisNexis CourtLink <litigator.lexisnexis.com/courtlink/>
324
* BRB’s Free Resource Center <www.brbpub.com/free-public-records/>
Free Public Records Search Directory <publicrecords.onlinesearches.com>
Jury Verdict Research <www.juryverdictresearch.com>
325
* Court Locator (U.S. Courts) <www.uscourts.gov/court_locator.aspx>
* State Court Web Sites (NCSC) <www.ncsc.org/Information-and-Resources/Browse-by-State/State-Court-Websites.aspx>
326
* Tribal Court Directory [offline]
Federal Judicial Center <www.fjc.gov>
329
* LexisONE [now LexisNexis Communities List of Free Forms] <www.lexisone.com/lx1/store/catalog?action=rootFreeCategory&tcode=PORTAL>
Forms and Contracts (FindLaw) <forms.lp.findlaw.com>
Chapter 8. Specialized and Nonlegal Sources
336
BNA [now Bloomberg BNA] <www.bna.com>
CCH <www.cch.com>
RIA <ria.thomsonreuters.com>
341
Google Alerts <www.google.com/alerts>
Yahoo! Alerts <alerts.yahoo.com>
342
Law.com <www.law.com>
Law News Now <www.abajournal.com/news>
* JURIST <www.jurist.org>
344
LawTRIO <www.infosourcespub.com>
* Current Law Journal Content [ceased]
Current Index to Legal Periodicals <lib.law.washington.edu/cilp/cilp.html>
Social Science Research Network <www.ssrn.com>
Berkeley Electronic Press <www.bepress.com>
345
SCOTUSblog <www.scotusblog.com>
Blawg Directory <www.abajournal.com/blawgs>
Justia BlawgSearch <blawgsearch.justia.com>
LexTweet <www.lextweet.com>
346
CataList <www.lsoft.com/lists/listref.html>
Food and Drug Administration <www.fda.gov>
347
* Factiva <www.dowjones.com/factiva/>
Google News <news.google.com>
* NewsVoyager [ceased]
348
Ward’s Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies <www.gale.cengage.com>
EDGAR <www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml>
National Association of Secretaries of State <www.nass.org>
349
* Judicial Business of the United States Courts
<www.uscourts.gov/Statistics.aspx>
* Court Statistics Project (NCSC) <www.courtstatistics.org>
* Uniform Crime Reports <www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/ucr/ucr>
350
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics <www.albany.edu/sourcebook/>
Bureau of Justice Statistics <bjs.ojp.usdoj.gov>
* Legal Profession Statistics (ABA) <www.americanbar.org/resources_for_lawyers/profession_statistics.html>
U.S. Census Bureau <www.census.gov>
Census of Population and Housing <www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/decennial/>
Economic Census <www.census.gov/econ/>
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
<www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/>
351
Statistical Abstract of the United States <www.census.gov/compendia/statab/>
Historical Statistics of the United States <hsus.cambridge.org >
FedStats <www.fedstats.gov>
352
* ProQuest Statistical Insight [was LexisNexis Statistical Insight] <congressional.proquest.com/statistical>
Gallup, Inc. <www.gallup.com>
Polling the Nations <poll.orspub.com>
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research <www.ropercenter.uconn.edu>
353
PubMed <www.pubmed.gov>
354
* Web of Knowledge <www.webofknowledge.com>
EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete <www.ebscohost.com>
InfoTrac OneFile <www.gale.cengage.com/onefile>
ProQuest Central <www.proquest.com>
IngentaConnect <www.ingentaconnect.com>
JSTOR <www.jstor.org>
355
Periodicals Archive Online <pao.chadwyck.com>
Periodicals Index Online <pio.chadwyck.com>
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses–Full Text <www.proquest.com>
WorldCat <www.worldcat.org>
Library of Congress Online Catalog <catalog.loc.gov>
USA Law Schools by State <stu.findlaw.com/schools/usaschools/>
356
Lib-web-cats <www.librarytechnology.org/libwebcats/>
Guide to Reference <www.guidetoreference.org>
357
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation <memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw>
* The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 <gdc.gale.com>
* HeinOnline <home.heinonline.org>
Early American Imprints <www.readex.com>
* Eighteenth Century Collections Online <gdc.gale.com>
Early English Books Online <eebo.chadwyck.com>
358
Google Book Search <books.google.com>
Text Archive <www.archive.org/details/texts>
America’s Historical Newspapers <www.readex.com>
ProQuest Historical Newspapers <www.proquest.com>
* Google News Archive <news.google.com>
360
Martindale-Hubbell Lawyer Locator <www.martindale.com>
361
Thomson Legal Record <legalrecords.findlaw.com>
362
Best Lawyers <www.bestlawyers.com>
NALP Directory of Legal Employers <www.nalpdirectory.com>
Legal Directories Lawyer Search <www.legaldirectories.com>
Legal Associations & Organizations <www.findlaw.com/06associations/>
Bar Associations & Other Legal Associations <www.washlaw.edu/bar/>
363
Associations Unlimited <www.gale.cengage.com>
National Trade and Professional Associations of the United States <www.associationexecs.com>
364
LLRX.com <www.llrx.com>
376
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law <www.mpepil.com>
381
Treaty Affairs (Department of State) <www.state.gov/s/l/treaty/>
Treaties and International Agreements Online <www.oceanalaw.com>
383
Frequently-Cited Treaties and Other International Instruments <library.law.umn.edu/researchguides/most-cited.html>
385
THOMAS <thomas.loc.gov>
Digest of U.S. Practice in International Law (Department of State) <www.state.gov/s/l/c8183.htm>
386
* Foreign Relations of the United States (University of Wisconsin) <uwdc.library.wisc.edu/collections/FRUS>
Foreign Relations of the United States (Department of State) <history.state.gov/historicaldocuments>
387
United Nations Treaty Collection <treaties.un.org>
388
OAS Secretariat for Legal Affairs <www.oas.org/DIL/>
Council of Europe Treaty Office <conventions.coe.int>
Hague Conference on Private International Law <www.hcch.net>
Electronic Information System for International Law <www.eisil.org>
* Multilaterals Project <fletcher.archive.tusm-oit.org/multilaterals/>
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library <www.umn.edu/humanrts/>
Flare Index to Treaties <ials.sas.ac.uk/treatyindex.htm>
389
World Treaty Index <depts.washington.edu/hrights/Treaty/trindex.html>
Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General <treaties.un.org>
CITES <www.cites.org>
International Humanitarian Law – Treaties and Documents <www.icrc.org/ihl>
390
À la Recherche des Travaux Préparatoires
<www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/Travaux_Preparatoires1.htm>
391
International Court of Justice <www.icj-cij.org>
392
Project on International Courts and Tribunals <www.pict-pcti.org>
International Courts & Tribunals Library <www.worldlii.org/int/cases/>
International Criminal Court <www.icc-cpi.int>
393
International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia <www.icty.org>
* International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda <www.unictr.org>
Special Court for Sierra Leone <www.sc-sl.org>
International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea <www.itlos.org>
394
European Court of Justice <curia.europa.eu>
European Court of Human Rights <www.echr.coe.int>
395
* Inter-American Commission on Human Rights <www.oas.org/en/iachr/>
Inter-American Court of Human Rights <www.corteidh.or.cr>
African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights <www.african-court.org>
396
* DomCLIC <www.domclic.org>
UNILEX <www.unilex.info>
Institute of International Commercial Law <www.cisg.law.pace.edu>
Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts (CLOUT)
<www.uncitral.org/uncitral/en/case_law.html>
ECOLEX <www.ecolex.org>
i.lex: The Legal Research System for International Law in U.S. Courts <ilex.asil.org>
397
Reports of International Arbitral Awards <www.un.org/law/riaa/>
Kluwer Arbitration <www.kluwerarbitration.com>
398
United Nations <www.un.org>
399
Yearbook of the United Nations <unyearbook.un.org>
Max Planck Yearbook of United Nations Law
<www.mpil.de/ww/en/pub/research/details/publications/institute/mpyunl.cfm>
UN Documents <www.un.org/documents/>
Official Document System of the United Nations <documents.un.org>
400
UNBISNET <unbisnet.un.org>
Access UN <www.readex.com>
United Nations Documentation: Research Guide <www.un.org/Depts/dhl/resguide/>
United Nations System <www.unsystem.org>
World Trade Organization <www.wto.org>
401
WorldTradeLaw.net <www.worldtradelaw.net>
402
European Union <europa.eu>
403
EUR-Lex <eur-lex.europa.eu>
404
Organization of American States <www.oas.org>
Council of Europe <www.coe.int>
Union of International Associations <www.uia.be>
* ASIL Electronic Resource Guide <www.asil.org/erg/>
405
GlobaLex <www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/>
Chapter 10. The Law of Other Countries
414
JuriGlobe <www.juriglobe.ca>
416
Market Research (International Trade Administration) <www.export.gov/mrktresearch/>
* International Judicial Assistance (Department of State) <travel.state.gov/law/judicial/judicial_702.html>
Central Intelligence Agency's World Factbook <https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/>
417
Europa World Plus <www.europaworld.com>
Statesman's Yearbook Online <www.statesmansyearbook.com>
418
International Encyclopaedia of Laws <www.ielaws.com>
Foreign Law Guide <www.foreignlawguide.com>
419
GlobaLex <www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/>
421
Constitutions of the Countries of the World <www.oceanalaw.com>
* International Constitutional Law <www.servat.unibe.ch/icl/>
Constitution Finder <confinder.richmond.edu>
The Rise of Modern Constitutionalism, 1776-1849 <www.modern-constitutions.de>
Martindale.com <www.martindale.com>
422
NATLEX (ILO) <natlex.ilo.org>
Collection of National Copyright Laws <www.unesco.org/culture/copyrightlaws/>
* Collection of Laws for Electronic Access (CLEA) [now WIPO Lex] <www.wipo.int/wipolex/>
Legifrance <www.legifrance.gouv.fr>
German Law Archive <www.iuscomp.org/gla/>
423
Foreign Law Translations (University of Texas)
<www.utexas.edu/law/academics/centers/transnational/work_new/>
Bulletin on Constitutional Case-Law <www.codices.coe.int>
Google Translate <translate.google.com>
424
* Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations [no longer available online]
* OSCOLA: The Oxford University Standard for Citation Of Legal Authorities <www.law.ox.ac.uk/publications/oscola.php>
425
Foreign & International Law Resources (Harvard Law Library) <www.law.harvard.edu/library/research/guides/int_foreign/web-resources/>
426
Guide to Law Online (Library of Congress) <www.loc.gov/law/help/guide.php>
World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) <www.worldlii.org>
* Doing Business (World Bank) <www.doingbusiness.org/law-library/>
427
* English Reports (CommonLII) <www.commonlii.org/uk/cases/EngR/>
428
* Term Dates (Judiciary of England and Wales)
<
www.judiciary.gov.uk/about-the-judiciary/the-judiciary-in-detail/term-dates-and-sittings/term-dates>
429
British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII) <www.bailii.org>
Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII) <www.canlii.org>
431
* UK Statute Law Database [now legislation.gov.uk] <www.legislation.gov.uk/>
* UK Public General Acts <www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga>
432
Justice Laws Web Site (Department of Justice Canada) <laws.justice.gc.ca>
British History Online <www.british-history.ac.uk>
Justis <www.justis.com>
* Regnal Year Calculator <people.albion.edu/imacinnes/calendar/Regnal_Years.html>
434
Government Gazettes Online
<www-personal.umich.edu/~graceyor/doctemp/gazettes/>
Appendix A. State Legal Research Guides
446
A Guide to Montana Legal Research <courts.mt.gov/content/library/guides/guide.pdf>
447
New Jersey Legal Research Handbook Supplement
<law-library.rutgers.edu/ilg/njlrhb5.php>
About This Guide
This page provides links to websites discussed in Morris L. Cohen & Kent C. Olson, Legal Research in a Nutshell (West, 10th ed. 2010). It was last modified on December 4, 2012. URLs marked with asterisks have changed since publication of the book.
Please send updates or comments to nutshell@virginia.edu

Loading...
