Skip to main content

Search Virgo Catalog or law library website

    Changes to Library access and hours due to COVID-19: read more.

COVID-19 Guide to Library Services

A guide to Arthur J. Morris Law Library services during the COVID-19 crisis. This guide will be updated as the situation evolves.

Access and Hours

Physical Space

Though the Library's physical spaces are closed to students, faculty and the public, our librarians are still happy to help with your research! Please don't hesitate to reach out to us at refdesk@law.virginia.edu.

If you've left personal belongings in the library, please contact Dean Davies in Student Affairs.

We regret that our printing/copying/scanning equipment is unavailable during the closure. We've been told that the FedEx Office Print & Ship Center at 2156 Barracks Road is open and offering both self-service and full-service printing.

Library Materials and Services

Access to Materials

Online collections continue to be available: try searching VIRGO (for ebooks) or Journal Finder (for electronic journals, newspapers and magazines).

Beginning June 8th, UVA libraries will resume access to physical materials* for current faculty, staff, and students via curbside pick-up.

  • Law students should use the 'Request LEO Delivery' button in the VIRGO catalog, even when requesting books and other materials that are held by the Law Library. When your item is ready for pick-up, you will receive an email to schedule a pick-up window. Note: you'll need to be logged in to VIRGO to make a request.
  • If you are not in Charlottesville or otherwise unable to pick-up items in person, please indicate that on the LEO request form and UVA Libraries staff will contact you to make alternate arrangements.
  • When you're finished with your items, you can use any of the book return boxes around Grounds.

*With the exception of current periodicals, newspapers, equipment, and materials from Health Sciences, Special Collections, and the Camp Library at Darden.

Interlibrary lending of print materials of physical items (i.e. whole books) has been suspended until further notice. Requests for scans of articles and book chapters are sometimes successful. Submit requests for such items in the usual way

Scanning Requests

Chapters, articles, or pages from library print materials that are not available online can be scanned for you. 

If you think the materials you need may be available through our online collections, please try searching VIRGO (for ebooks) or Journal Finder (for journal, newspapers and magazines) before submitting your scan request. Many publishers have temporarily opened access to their e-book, e-journal, and video collections. HathiTrust has opened e-book access to many books that are in our collection for the duration of the crisis, though you can only view these materials on-screen.

If you need research help or any other assistance from the Law Library, we are here for you! Just email refdesk@law.virginia.edu.

Online Bluebook

Missing your Bluebook? Request a code for the online version! Once your account has been created, you can access it at: https://www.legalbluebook.com/.

Reference Desk

The 2nd floor Reference Desk is closed, but our library staff is still here to help you. You can find us at our virtual reference desk by emailing refdesk@law.virginia.edu. We look forward to hearing from you!

Entertainment

Need to take your mind off things? The library offers access to streaming video and ebooks:

Due Dates and Returning Books

Returning Books

You can return library books to the Law Library book drop (located outside our doors) if you have Law building access. There is also a drive-up book return in the Central Grounds parking garage on Emmet Street. If you are graduating this semester and not planning to return to Charlottesville, you can mail books to us. Contact refdesk@law.virginia.edu for details.

Due Dates

Student due dates are currently set to May 17, 2021. All DVD checkouts will be due on Sept. 1, 2020.

Archives and Special Collections

Researchers who would like to review materials in Law Special Collections should email requests to archives@law.virginia.edu. Special Collections staff are not regularly onsite but will work with you to provide digital access to materials if possible.

Need Library Help?

Other questions? Contact us at: