Skip to main content

Search Virgo Catalog or law library website

Hours and Contacts: Interactive Library Map

Hours, staff listing, and maps for the UVA Law Library.

Law Library Map and Directory

 

Reserved Study Carrels

Open Study Carrels

Open Study Carrels

Open Study Carrels

Open Study Carrels

Open Study Carrels

Reserved Study Carrels

Reserved Study Carrels

Reserved Study Carrels

Reserved Study Carrels

Reserved Study Carrels

Reserved Study Carrels

Reserved Study Carrels (Law Journals)

Reserved Study Carrels (Law Journals)

Reserved Study Carrels (Law Journals)

Mason (WB247)

Group study rooms can be reserved online.

McBeal (WB130a)

Group study rooms can be reserved online.

Galvin (WB131)

Group study rooms can be reserved online.

Pritchett (WB130)

Group study rooms can be reserved online.

Kaffee (WB131a)

Group study rooms can be reserved online.

Gambini (WB283)

Group study rooms can be reserved online.

McCoy (WB282)

Group study rooms can be reserved online.

Woods (WB281)

Group study rooms can be reserved online.

Huxtable (WB238c)

Group study rooms can be reserved online.

Loblaw (WB238b)

Group study rooms can be reserved online.

Finch (WB236b)

Group study rooms can be reserved online.

 

Where is it?

This map highlights spaces and services of the Law Library. Select a feature from the left menu to see its location.

Exits and Emergency Feature Locations

Emergency exits are located throughout the library. The main entrance is open during library hours, while the two other first-floor exits are alarmed after 5:00pm.

An AED (automatic external defibrillator) unit is wall mounted behind the reference desk. The library's first aid kit is at the circulation desk.

Group Study Rooms

Group Study Rooms are located on the first and second floors. Reservations are recommended.

Printers, copiers & scanners

Printers, copiers, and scanners are located on the first and second floors.

Our Printing, Copying & Scanning Guide can answer many of your questions about using these helpful machines.

Study Carrels

Study Carrels are located on the first, second and third floors. Some carrels are reserved, but others are available for private study on a first-come, first-served basis.

Most open study carrels (in orange) are found on the second floor; carrels that are reserved for law journal use are on the first and second floors (in green); carrels that can be reserved by graduate students and research assistants (in blue) are found on the first and second floor. 

Learn more.

The Caplin Reading Room

The Caplin Reading Room is the large, open study area in the center first floor.

Learn more.

MyLab

MyLab, on the second floor across from the reference desk, is a great place to have a phone or in-person conversation, or grab a snack or a cup of coffee. A copier and book scanner are also in MyLab.

Klaus Reading Room

The Klaus Reading Room, relocated to the first floor in 2015, is a comfortable place to take a break from case reading and peruse a popular book or magazine for pleasure. It also houses our Reserve Stacks and DVD collection.

The Circulation Desk

The circulation desk is located on the first floor inside the main entrance and to the left. This is where books and other materials are checked out.

Learn more.

The Reference Desk

The reference desk is located on the second floor to the left of the top of the stairs. The reference desk is staffed by law librarians and staff who can help you use research materials online and in the library.

Learn more.

Restrooms

Restrooms are located on the first and second floors.

Restrooms

Restrooms are located on the first and second floors.

Call No. Reference A-Z

Materials with any call number and a location of "Reference" are part of the reference collection. The reference collection is centrally located near the reference desk on the second floor library. The collection includes primary legal materials like codes, statutes, and cases, and secondary materials like current popular treatises, dictionaries, and directories. Reference materials are to be used only in the library.

Call No. Reserves A-Z

Materials with any call number and a location of "Reserves" are found in the Reserves room to the right of the circulation desk. There is a three-hour limit for checking out reserve materials.

Call. No. A-HV599

These materials cover a wide range of subject areas and are located on the third floor (accessed via the staircase to the left of the reference desk) outside of Special Collections.

Call. No. HV600-K399

These materials cover social sciences (H), political science (J), and law (K) and are located on the second floor next to the Government Documents section.

Call. No. K
(except K1-399 and KF)

Because call number K is the subject heading for "Law," the bulk of materials in our library have call numbers beginning with K. Non-U.S. law materials* with call number K400 and above are found in the Foreign and International section of the library on the second floor. At the top of the main staircase, circle around to the left past the Technical Services department to find this section.

*Call number KF designates U.S. law. These materials have their own section, located down the hallway to the right of the interior stairway on the second floor. KFV designates Virginia materials, also shelved separately, which are located around the perimeter of the Caplin Reading Room on the first floor.

Call. No. KF
(except KFV)

Call number KF designates U.S. law.* These materials have their own section, located down the hallway to the right of the interior stairway on the second floor.

*KFV designates Virginia materials, also shelved separately, which are located around the perimeter of the Caplin Reading Room on the first floor.

Call Number KFV: Virginia

*KFV designates Virginia materials, also shelved separately, which are located around the perimeter of the Caplin Reading Room on the first floor.

Call. No. KF
(except KFV)

Call number KF designates U.S. law.* These materials have their own section, located down the hallway to the right of the interior stairway on the second floor.

*KFV designates Virginia materials, also shelved separately, which are located around the perimeter of the Caplin Reading Room on the first floor.

Call. No. K
(except K1-399 and KF)

Because call number K is the subject heading for "Law," the bulk of materials in our library have call numbers beginning with K. Non-U.S. law materials* with call number K400 and above are found in the Foreign and International section of the library on the second floor. At the top of the main staircase, circle around to the left past the Technical Services department to find this section.

*Call number KF designates U.S. law. These materials have their own section, located down the hallway to the right of the interior stairway on the second floor. KFV designates Virginia materials, also shelved separately, are located around the perimeter of the Caplin Reading Room on the first floor.

Call. No. K
(except K1-399 and KF)

Because call number K is the subject heading for "Law," the bulk of materials in our library have call numbers beginning with K. Non-U.S. law materials* with call number K400 and above are found in the Foreign and International section of the library on the second floor. At the top of the main staircase, circle around to the left past the Technical Services department to find this section.

*Call number KF designates U.S. law. These materials have their own section, located down the hallway to the right of the interior stairway on the second floor. KFV designates Virginia materials, also shelved separately, are located around the perimeter of the Caplin Reading Room on the first floor.

Foreign & International

Our foreign and international section is in the process of being reclassified. Materials that are still under the old classification scheme are arranged at the end of the Foreign and International section as follows:

  • F - General Foreign
  • Afr - Africa and African nations
  • Asia - Asia and Asian nations
  • Eur - Europe and European nations
  • LA - Latin America and Latin American nations
  • Pac I - Pacific Islands and Pacific Island nations
  • W Ind - West Indies and West Indies nations

Government Documents

The U.S. Government Documents collection has a classification system all its own. This collection includes federal documents from Congress and the Executive Branch.

Microfilm / Microfiche

Our microfilm and microfiche collection includes mostly archival materials. There are two reader machines with scanning, file transfer and print capabilities. Users are asked to not refile the films and fiche, but place them in the designated bin when finished using them. Contact a library staff member if you need help using these materials and equipment.

Call No. P.
("Periodicals," a.k.a. Law Journals)

Our journals collection has its own room on the first floor adjacent to the Caplin Reading Room, left when faced from the main entrance.

DVDs

The Law Library DVD Collection is found in the Reserve Room to the left of the circulation desk. Our DVDs can be found using the VIRGO library catalog, and can also be searched separately using our DVD browser.

Special Collections

Our Special Collections materials include archives, manuscripts, and rare books. Most materials are located on the third floor and require librarian assistance to access. Contact our Special Collections department for more information.

Foreign & International

Our foreign and international section is in the process of being reclassified. Materials that are still under the old classification scheme are arranged at the end of the Foreign and International section as follows:

  • F - General Foreign
  • Afr - Africa and African nations
  • Asia - Asia and Asian nations
  • Eur - Europe and European nations
  • LA - Latin America and Latin American nations
  • Pac I - Pacific Islands and Pacific Island nations
  • W Ind - West Indies and West Indies nations

Foreign & International

Our foreign and international section is in the process of being reclassified. Materials that are still under the old classification scheme are arranged at the end of the Foreign and International section as follows:

  • F - General Foreign
  • Afr - Africa and African nations
  • Asia - Asia and Asian nations
  • Eur - Europe and European nations
  • LA - Latin America and Latin American nations
  • Pac I - Pacific Islands and Pacific Island nations
  • W Ind - West Indies and West Indies nations

Foreign & International

Our foreign and international section is in the process of being reclassified. Materials that are still under the old classification scheme are arranged at the end of the Foreign and International section as follows:

  • F - General Foreign
  • Afr - Africa and African nations
  • Asia - Asia and Asian nations
  • Eur - Europe and European nations
  • LA - Latin America and Latin American nations
  • Pac I - Pacific Islands and Pacific Island nations
  • W Ind - West Indies and West Indies nations

Foreign & International

Our foreign and international section is in the process of being reclassified. Materials that are still under the old classification scheme are arranged at the end of the Foreign and International section as follows:

  • F - General Foreign
  • Afr - Africa and African nations
  • Asia - Asia and Asian nations
  • Eur - Europe and European nations
  • LA - Latin America and Latin American nations
  • Pac I - Pacific Islands and Pacific Island nations
  • W Ind - West Indies and West Indies nations

Foreign & International

Our foreign and international section is in the process of being reclassified. Materials that are still under the old classification scheme are arranged at the end of the Foreign and International section as follows:

  • F - General Foreign
  • Afr - Africa and African nations
  • Asia - Asia and Asian nations
  • Eur - Europe and European nations
  • LA - Latin America and Latin American nations
  • Pac I - Pacific Islands and Pacific Island nations
  • W Ind - West Indies and West Indies nations

Foreign & International

Our foreign and international section is in the process of being reclassified. Materials that are still under the old classification scheme are arranged at the end of the Foreign and International section as follows:

  • F - General Foreign
  • Afr - Africa and African nations
  • Asia - Asia and Asian nations
  • Eur - Europe and European nations
  • LA - Latin America and Latin American nations
  • Pac I - Pacific Islands and Pacific Island nations
  • W Ind - West Indies and West Indies nations

Foreign & International

Our foreign and international section is in the process of being reclassified. Materials that are still under the old classification scheme are arranged at the end of the Foreign and International section as follows:

  • F - General Foreign
  • Afr - Africa and African nations
  • Asia - Asia and Asian nations
  • Eur - Europe and European nations
  • LA - Latin America and Latin American nations
  • Pac I - Pacific Islands and Pacific Island nations
  • W Ind - West Indies and West Indies nations