This is the "Faculty Services" page of the "Faculty Services" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Faculty Services  

Services provided by the library staff for professors at the University of Virginia Law Library.
Last Updated: Jul 25, 2013 URL: http://libguides.law.virginia.edu/facultyservices Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Faculty Services Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Services for Law Faculty


Contacts

Library Director: Taylor Fitchett (4-7725)
Reference Questions: Refdesk (4-7465)
Faculty Research: Kent Olson (4-4734)
Acquisitions: Kip Gobin (4-3745)
Circulation and Routing: Cathy Palombi (4-3519)
Course Reserves: Tim Breeden (4-0940)
Government Documents: Marnita Simpson (4-3504)
International and Foreign Law: Xinh Luu (4-3970)

Reference, Research and Instruction Services

The Law Library provides a full range of services to support faculty research and teaching, from answering complex reference queries to supplying legal and nonlegal books, journal articles, and photocopies. Law Library staff retrieve and copy materials from other UVA libraries and place interlibrary requests for items not available at UVA.

The major service point is Refdesk, an e-mail address for the exclusive use of UVA law faculty. Refdesk can help with any inquiry about the library, including reference, acquisitions and circulation questions. It is the first and only point of contact you need to know in the library. (Refdesk service is limited to UVA law faculty. Other patrons should click here for e-mail reference service.)

Refdesk requests are answered by one of ten reference librarians, and copying and other services are handled by a number of people on the library staff. The reference desk can also be reached by phone, at 924-7465. Please contact Kent Olson if you have questions about the scope of Refdesk service.

The reference librarians generally have research expertise in American legal and nonlegal materials. Experts in particular areas include Jon Ashley (business and empirical research), Xinh Luu (international and foreign law), and Marnita Simpson (government documents, including congressional materials).

Reference librarians would also be happy to provide research instruction for you or for your students. We can visit your class or arrange special sessions in the library to teach your students how to conduct research in specific areas. Contact Kent Olson to discuss these programs.

Major Databases

The library subscribes to numerous online databases and services that may be of use in your research. The major subscriptions are listed here on the Law Library's web site, and hundreds more are in the University Library's database list.

Law faculty have passwords to LexisNexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law, the three major comprehensive online systems. If you have questions concerning your Lexis or Westlaw password or would like to arrange for training, please contact Micheal Klepper or Refdesk. Bloomberg Law includes access to docket information and filings in federal courts and some state courts; for more information contact Jon Ashley or Refdesk

Two other very useful databases for law faculty are HeinOnline and JSTOR. Both provide PDF copies of journal articles in their original format (instead of unsightly, hard-to-read computer printouts). Articles can be retrieved by citation or searched by keyword. HeinOnline focuses on legal journals and has complete retrospective access to more than 1000 law reviews. JSTOR is a broader collection of scholarly journals, with only a few dozen law reviews, but it includes many other titles of interest to legal researchers in areas such as economics, history, and political science. HeinOnline and JSTOR can be accessed from home offices through the UVA proxy server or UVa Anywhere. Contact Refdesk for more information.

Audio Case Files is a service providing access to audio recordings of opinions found in case books. Audio files are arranged by course or by casebook. They can be downloaded to an MP3 player or burned to CD. Video files of selected trials and hearings are available for viewing online. Faculty can register with their virginia.edu email address.

Current Awareness

The Law Library facilitates current awareness of scholarly and legal developments through several means.

The major current awareness source for new law review literature is the Current Index to Legal Periodicals from the University of Washington. Some people receive the entire CILP by e-mail, but most faculty members subscribe to a customized program called SmartCILP that provides automatic e-mail notice of specific subjects and/or journals. An authorization code is required to register for SmartCILP; contact Kent Olson for details.

Bloomberg Law provides access to dozens of daily and weekly BNA newsletters in topical areas from antitrust to telecommunications. You can subscribe to receive e-mailed headlines with links to full stories. To sign up, go to Bloomberg Law and click on "BNA Law Reports" and then "Manage Email Notifications."

The Law Library subscribes to several SSRN networks: Legal Scholarship Network, Corporate Governance Network, Economics Research Network, Financial Economics Network, and Political Science Network. Each of these networks has numerous e-journals providing abstracts of working papers and other current scholarship. The SSRN website has information about subscribing under the Law Library's site license.

The Law Library also provides abstracts or contents of new journal issues in other disciplines. Faculty members can opt to receive abstracts of articles in journals in economics, philosophy, political science, and psychology. Individual professors also receive abstracts of specialized journals such as Addiction or Urban Studies. If you have a particular interdisciplinary interest or need to keep abreast of developments in journals we don't receive, contact Kent Olson.

Bear in mind that Google, LexisNexis, Westlaw and Bloomberg Law all have services that automatically run saved searches on a regular basis. These alert services are powerful tools for monitoring developments in areas of interest. Contact Refdesk for more information about these notification services.

Resources for Authors

The Law School has an account with ExpressO for electronic submission of manuscripts to your choice of law reviews. For shorter opinion pieces, submission criteria and procedures for op-eds in more than 100 U.S. newspapers are available from the Communications Consortium Media Center.

Law Journals: Submissions and Ranking, from Washington & Lee Law School, classifies and ranks law reviews based on subject matter, impact, and number of citations in journals and legal opinions, and also provides manuscript submission instructions. The LexisNexis Directory of Law Reviews provides addresses for more than 600 journals in PDF, spreadsheet and Word label files, although it has not been updated in several years.

Acquisitions

We are always interested in hearing what materials are needed to support your research. Purchasing these will help you and will strengthen our collection. Contact Refdesk or Kip Gobin with your recommendations for the library collection.

We also welcome faculty gifts to the library, including casebooks, hornbooks, texts, and journals. Please contact Kip to arrange a contribution.

Circulation and Routing

Every faculty member is registered upon arrival for borrowing privileges at the Law Library and other UVA libraries. Most books are checked out to faculty for an indefinite loan period, although they are subject to recall if needed by another patron.

The Law Library delivers material to faculty offices daily, including both requested items and new issues of regularly routed journals and newsletters. If there are law reviews or other materials you would like to see on a regular basis, send Refdesk a request to be added to a routing list. Popular journals are routed to numerous people, so speedy turnaround of new issues is appreciated by all.

One of our staff members travels daily to the other UVA libraries for books and articles for faculty. We also use the University's LEO document delivery service for non-rush items, and offer interlibrary loan through the University Library. ILL materials are generally checked out for one month; it is important to return these items on time to maintain borrowing privileges. For questions, contact Cathy Palombi.

Course Reserves

Each semester we ask you if there are books or other materials you would like to put on reserve for your students, and send you (if applicable) a list of items previously on reserve for each course. Please contact Tim Breeden if you have any questions about reserve procedures or policies.

 

About This Guide

The Law Library provides many services for the University of Virginia School of Law faculty. For questions not answered here, please email Refdesk.

See also the Law Faculty Library Guide.


//==================SiteImprove Code================= //==================END SiteImprove Code=================
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip