Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arthur J. Morris Law Library
The Virginia Constitution
Free online Constitution. In print, the Constitution is located in the first volume of the Code of Virginia
. The library's resources on the Constitution include A. E. Dick Howard, Commentaries on the Constitution of Virginia
(Reserve KFV 2801 1970
Virginia Legislative Documents
Virginia's Legislative Information System
Search bills introduced in the Virginia Assembly and track their status. Covers legislation from 1994 through the current session.
House of Delegates Journal & Senate Journal (print)
The daily proceedings of the Virginia House of Delegates (KFV 2418 .H6
) and the Virginia Senate (KFV2418 .S4
) are available in print in the Caplin Reading Room.
Reports to the General Assembly
This database lists House and Senate documents since 1897, with most reports since 1984 (and some earlier reports) available in full text in PDF. Documents are also available in print in the library basement
Virginia Case Law
Opinions from the Virginia Supreme Court and Court of Appeals
Opinions since mid-1995 of the Supreme Court of Virginia and the Court of Appeals of Virginia are available through the Virginia Judicial System website. Virginia Reports
(KFV 2445 .A2
), containing decisions of the Supreme Court of Virginia, and Virginia Court of Appeals Reports
(KFV 2448 .A2
) are available in the Caplin Reading Room. Selected opinions from Virginia trial courts are published in Virginia Circuit Court Opinions
(KFV 2451 .A33
) (and are available on Lexis and Westlaw).
Virginia Briefs (HeinOnline)
Selected Virginia Supreme Court records and briefs are available through HeinOnline's Virginia Briefs collection.
Virginia Administrative Law
Virginia Administrative Code
A compilation of the current administrative rules and regulations hosted by the Virginia General Assembly. Search or browse the contents. The library maintains a print copy of the Virginia Administrative Code
(KFV 2435 1992 A2
) in its Virginia Reference Collection.
Virginia Register of Regulations
The Virginia Register
, where proposed and final Virginia state rules are published before entering the Virginia Administrative Code, is released biweekly. A print copy is available in the in the library's Virginia Reference Collection (KFV 2436 .V57
Virginia Attorney General Opinions
Attorney general opinions since 1996 are available on the Attorney General's website. The library also has print copies of the Opinions of the Attorney General (KFV 2840 A55294
Virginia Municipal Law
Virginia Municipal Codes
The Charlottesville City Code is available through Municode.com, as are the codes for several dozen other Virginia cities and more than half of Virginia's counties. The Albemarle County Code is available on the county's website
. Print copies of the codes for Charlottesville (KFX1224 .C4 A35
) and Albemarle County (KFV2999 .A5 A35
) are also available in the Virginia Reference Collection.
About This Guide
Our Virginia Legal Research Guide is designed to provide an introduction to basic resources for Virginia legal research. The guide links to electronic resources where available, and notes when the Law Library maintains the resource in its collection.