Find the best library databases for your research. Additional databases are available through the UVA Libraries website.
Loading...
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Audiobooks on Lexis Digital Library
New
Are you an audiobook lover? Check out our collection of popular fiction and nonfiction titles on the Lexis Digital Library phone app. (Download it for Android or iPhone and use library code uvalaw to get access.
Border and Migration Studies Online helps students and researchers understand today’s world through primary source documents, archives, films, and ephemera related to significant border areas and events from the 19th to 21st centuries.
Overton is the world’s largest searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers. It collects data from 188 countries and over a thousand sources worldwide with more being added all the time.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
A comprehensive legal research database from Bloomberg, including dockets, cases, statutes, financial and corporate information and news. UVA Law students and faculty have access via password. Register for access here. You don't need an activation code, but be sure to use an @virginia.edu address.
Alternate Name(s)
Lexis Nexis, LexisAdvance, Lexis Plus
A comprehensive collection of legal and general databases, including cases, statutes, Shepard’s Citations, journal articles, and news. UVA Law students and faculty have access via password.
Lexis+ vs. NexisUni: NexisUni is intended for the entire University community; it lacks some content and features of the law school version, but does not require a password.
Online access to the New York Times includes full entry to the archives from 1851 to present day. Features include Spanish and Chinese editions plus hundreds of articles published in other languages and access to The New York Times Magazine. Users must be On-Grounds or have their VPN turned on to create an account with NYTimes.
*Cooking, Wirecutter, The Athletic (sports coverage), Games/crossword puzzles, and e-Reader editions (e.g., iPad/tablet apps) excluded.
There is a daily download limit of 5 pdf articles from 1923 through 1980.
The Daily Progress is Charlottesville's local newspaper. Click the blue 'Access Online' button to see database access options: use America's News for text-only and Newsbank for scanned images. A historical archive of scanned images (covering 1893-1964) is also available here.
A comprehensive commercial site from ThomsonWest, including cases, statutes, KeyCite, journal articles, and news. UVA Law students and faculty have access via password.
Requires a password. UVA law students and faculty should contact a law library staff member for assistance.
