Skip to Main Content

Nutshell 11th Edition Links and Images : Nutshell 11th Ed. Links MASTER PAGE

Text-only version of the Nutshell 11th ed. companion website.

Arthur J. Morris Law Library

The content on this guide appears at Legal Research in a Nutshell, 11th ed. Online Supplement at http://lib.law.virginia.edu/nutshell/. Kent Olson maintains the links here.

This guide also serves as the "text-only version" of the website for accessibility purposes.

Last updated:

Last modified September 17, 2015

Chapter 5. Legislative Information

§ 5-2. Federal Legislative History Sources
Congress.gov
Federal Digital System (FDSys)
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection
Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994
HeinOnline U.S. Congressional Documents
ProQuest Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates
ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collection
Congressional Hearings (HeinOnline)
U.S. Senate
U.S. House of Representatives
Congressional Budget Office
Government Accountability Office
Open CRS 
University of North Texas Digital Library 
ProQuest Congressional Research Digital Collection

§ 5-3. Congressional Research Resources
HeinOnline U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
Legislative Source Book (LLSDC)
Legislative Histories of U.S. Laws on the Internet: Commercial Sources (LLSDC) 
Congress.gov
Federal Digital System (FDSys)
U.S. Senate
U.S. House of Representatives
ProQuest Legislative Insight and ProQuest Congressional
WestlawNext
CQ Press Electronic Library 
The Hill
CQ Roll Call 
House and Senate Journals 1789-1875 (Library of Congress) 
Congressional Yellow Book
Official Congressional Directory (FDSys)
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-Present

§ 5-4. State Legislative Information
State Legislatures Internet Links (NCSL)
State Legislatures, State Laws, and State Regulations: Website Links and Telephone Numbers (LLSDC)
State Legislative History Research Guides
Initiative & Referendum Institute

Chapter 6. Administrative Law

§ 6-2. Background Reference Sources
Federal Agency Directory (LSU) [no longer available]
USA.gov
Washington Information Directory
United States Government Manual
Carroll’s Federal Directory
Federal Yellow Book

§ 6-3. Federal Regulations
Office of the Federal Register
HeinOnline Federal Register Collection
Reginfo.gov
Regulations.gov
OpenRegs.com
Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR)
HeinOnline Code of Federal Regulations Library

§ 6-4. Guidance Documents
Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
A Citizen’s Guide on Using the Freedom of Information Act

§ 6-5. Administrative Decisions and Rulings
HeinOnline U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
LLMC Digital
Administrative Decisions (University of Virginia Library)
HeinOnline U.S. Attorney General & Department of Justice Collection
Office of Legal Counsel (USDOJ)

§ 6-6. Presidential Lawmaking
American Presidency Project
Executive Orders (National Archives)
HeinOnline U.S. Presidential Library

§ 6-7. State Administrative Law
State Government Information (Library of Congress)
State Blue Books (ALA)
Carroll’s State Directory
State Yellow Book
Book of the States
Administrative Rules Online by State
National Governors Association
National Association of Attorneys General
Open Government Guide (Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press)
State FOI (National Freedom of Information Coalition)

§ 6-8. Local Law
State and Local Government on the Net
American Legal Publishing Corporation
Municipal Code Corporation
International Code Council
Building Codes Resource Center
Public.Resource.org

Chapter 8. Specialized and Nonlegal Sources

§ 8-2. Looseleaf and Electronic Services
Bloomberg BNA
CCH IntelliConnect
RIA Checkpoint

§ 8-3. Current Awareness
Google Alerts
Law.com
ABA JournalLaw News Now
JURIST
LawTRIO
Current Index to Legal Periodicals
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Berkeley Electronic Press Law Commons (Digital Commons Network)
SCOTUSblog
ABA JournalBlawg Directory
Justia BlawgSearch
Legal Birds
Tile.net Lists
FDA Interactive Media

§ 8-4. Legal History Resources
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection
Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates
The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
HeinOnline Legal Classics Library
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Early English Books Online
HathiTrust Digital Library
Internet Archive’s Text Archive
Google Books
America’s Historical Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers

§ 8-5. Statistics
United States Courts: Statistics
Court Statistics Project (NCSC)
Uniform Crime Reports
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Legal Profession Statistics (ABA)
U.S. Census Bureau
Census of Population and Housing
Economic Census
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Census Bureau)
Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
Historical Statistics of the United States
FedStats
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Data.gov
Gallup, Inc.
Polling the Nations
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research

§ 8-6. Legal Directories
Martindale.com
FindLaw Lawyer Directory [formerly Thomson Legal Record]
Best Lawyers
Law Firms Yellow Book
NALP Directory of Legal Employers
Legal Directories Publishing Co.
State and Local Bar Associations (ABA)
Associations Unlimited
AssociationExecs.com

§ 8-7. General News and Business Information
Factiva
Google News
Ward’s Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
Hoover’s Company Information
EDGAR
State Secretary of State Pages (NASS)

§ 8-8. Interedisciplinary Research
Web of Knowledge
EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete
InfoTrac OneFile
ProQuest Central
IngentaConnect
JSTOR
Periodicals Archive Online
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses–Full Text
WorldCat
Library of Congress Online Catalog
USA Law Schools by State (FindLaw)
Guide to Reference

§ 8-9. Specialized Research Guides
LLRX.com

Chapter 9. International Law

§ 9-2. Preliminary Research
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
HeinOnline Foreign and International Law Resources Database

§ 9-3. U.S. Practice in International Law
Treaty Affairs (Department of State)
HeinOnline Treaties and Agreements Library
Treaties and International Agreements Online
Treaties in Force
Frequently-Cited Treaties & Other International Instruments (University of Minnesota)
Digest of U.S. Practice in International Law
HeinOnline Foreign and International Law Resources Database
Foreign Relations of the United States (University of Wisconsin)
Foreign Relations of the United States (Department of State)

§ 9-4. General Treaty Research
United Nations Treaty Collection
HeinOnline United Nations Law Collection
Council of Europe Treaty Office
OAS Treaties and Agreements
Hague Conference on Private International Law
Electronic Information System for International Law (EISIL)
Multilaterals Project
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
Flare Index to Treaties
World Treaty Index
Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General
CITES (Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species)
International Humanitarian Law – Treaties and Documents [Geneva Conventions]
United Nations Treaty Collection
HeinOnline United Nations Law Collection
Collected Travaux Préparatoires (Yale Law School)

§ 9-5. Cases and Arbitrations
International Court of Justice
Project on International Courts and Tribunals
International Courts & Tribunals Collection (WorldLII)
International Criminal Court
International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia
International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda
Special Court for Sierra Leone
Annotated Leading Cases of International Criminal Tribunals
International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea
European Court of Justice
European Court of Human Rights
Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
Inter-American Court of Human Rights
African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights
International Crimes Database [formerly Domestic Case Law on International Criminal Law (DomCLIC)]
UNILEX
Institute of International Commercial Law
Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts (CLOUT)
ECOLEX
i.lex: The Legal Research System for International Law in U.S. Courts
Reports of International Arbitral Awards
Kluwer Arbitration

§ 9-6. International Organizations
United Nations
United Nations Handbook
Yearbook of the United Nations
UN Documents
Official Document System of the United Nations
UNBISNET
Access UN
United Nations Documentation: Research Guide
United Nations System of Organizations: Website Locator
World Trade Organization
WorldTradeLaw.net
European Union
Eur-Lex
Directory of European Union Legislation in Force
Organization of American States
Council of Europe
International Encyclopaedia of Laws: Intergovernmental Organizations
Yearbook of International Organizations

§ 9-7. Sources for Further Information
ASIL Electronic Resource Guide
GlobaLex

Chapter 10. The Law of Other Countries

Images and Captions, Chapter 1

  • Image 1-1. The dictionary of "infant" in Black's Law Dictionary (9th ed. 2009), as shown on WestlawNext.
  • Image 1-2. The main search screen for Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations.
  • Image 1-3. WestlawNext homepage and main search screen.
  • Image 1-4. LexisAdvance homepage and main search screen.
  • Image 1-5. BloombergLaw main search screen.
  • Image 1-6. A WestlawNext Advanced Search screen, showing some of the available fields and connectors.

Images and Captions, Chapter 2

  • Image 2-1. A page from American Jurisprudence 2d discussing the vicious or dangerous propensities of domestic animals. 4 Am. Jur. 2d Animals §§ 69-70 (2007).
  • Image 2-2. A page from Corpus Juris Secundum on the same issue. Note that Am. Jur.’s discussion is slightly more general and that C.J.S. cites cases from more states. 8B C.J.S. Animals § 323 (2003).
  • Image 2-3. A page from a state encyclopedia, focusing on a specific jurisdiction and discussing statutes as well as cases. 1 N.C. Index 4th Animals, Livestock, or Poultry § 11 (2009).
  • Image 2-4. A page from a treatise on liability for abnormally dangerous domestic animals. 2 Dan B. Dobbs et al., The Law of Torts § 439 (2d ed. 2011).
  • Image 2-5. A Restatement section, showing the standard format of black-letter rule, comment, and (at the top of the page) reporter's note providing more detailed discussion. Restatement (Third) of Torts: Liab. for Physical and Emotional Harm § 23 (2010).
  • Image 2-6. A page from a law review student note on dangerous dog issues. Note that the footnotes, which occupy half the page, provide references to cases, a treatise, and other law review commentary. Jonathan R. Shulan, Note, When Dogs Bite: A Fair, Effective, and Comprehensive Solution to the Contemporary Problem of Dog Attacks, 32 U. Ark. Little Rock L. Rev. 259, 272 (2010).
  • Image 2-7. HeinOnline's main Law Journal Library page, showing the Citation Navigator, top left, and search options, top center.
  • Image 2-8. HeinOnlline's journal display, showing results on the left and the print/download icon to the right of the page number, top center.
  • Image 2-9. Index to Legal Periodicals search results, including (at number 1) a bar journal article available in full text and (at number 3) the student note shown in earlier images.
  • Image 2-10. LegalTrac search results, also listing the UALR student note as number 3.

Images and Captions, Chapter 3

  • Image 3-1. A slip opinion from the North Carolina Court of Appeals. Harris v. Barefoot, No. COA09-1313 (N.C. Ct. App. Aug. 3, 2010).
  • Image 3-2. The same case, as published in a West reporter with syllabus and headnotes. Harris v. Barefoot, 704 S.E.2d 282 (N.C. Ct. App. 2010).
  • Image 3-3. Harris v. Barefoot as it appears on WestlawNext, with syllabus, headnotes, and tabs for KeyCite information.
  • Image 3-4. Harris v. Barefoot as it appears on Lexis Advance, with LexisNexis case summary and headnotes.
  • Image 3-5. Harris v. Barefoot as it appears on Bloomberg Law, with BCite information.
  • Image 3-6. Harris v. Barefoot as it appears on Google Scholar.
  • Image 3-7. The first page of a Supreme Court decision, as published in the U.S. Reports. United States v. Olson, 546 U.S. 43 (2005).
  • Image 3-8. Continuation of United States v. Olson, showing the end of the syllabus and the beginning of the Court’s opinion. 546 U.S. at 44.
  • Image 3-9. The first page of United States v. Olson in the Supreme Court Reporter, with West synopsis and headnotes.
  • Image 3-10. Map of the United States Courts of Appeals and United States District Courts.
  • Image 3-11. The National Center for State Courts' chart of North Carolina court structure.
  • Image 3-12. WestlawNext’s Advanced Search screen for cases, showing some of the available fields including party name, synopsis, and digest.
  • Image 3-13. A West Key Number display on WestlawNext, including headnotes from Harris v. Barefoot.
  • Image 3-14. Excerpt from a West digest’s descriptive-word index, showing entries for dog-bite issues.
  • Image 3-15. The first page of the Animals topic in a West digest, showing topics covered and excluded as well as the first few key numbers.
  • Image 3-16. Excerpt from the Animals outline in a West digest, showing key numbers related to liability for dog bites.
  • Image 3-17. Headnotes from Harris v. Barefoot, as reprinted in a West digest pocket part supplement.
  • Image 3-18. Excerpt from Words and Phrases, showing definitions of terms such as "vicious dog" and "vicious propensities."
  • Image 3-19. The beginning of an ALR annotation, showing the start of the topical outline. Cheryl M. Bailey, Annotation, Liability of Owner or Operator of Business Premises for Injury to Patron by Dog or Cat, 67 A.L.R.4th 976 (1989).
  • Image 3-20. A page from the ALR annotation, showing portions of the subject index and table of jurisdictions.
  • Image 3-21. Excerpt from an ALR pocket part, showing at bottom right a summary of Harris v. Barefoot.
  • Image 3-22. Excerpt from the ALR Index, showing at bottom left an entry for the annotation on liability for dog or cat injuries.
  • Image 3-23. The KeyCite display of citing references for United States v. Olson, a Supreme Court case.
  • Image 3-24. The Shepard's display of citing decisions for the same case.
  • Image 3-25. Google Scholar's "How cited" treatment of the case.
  • Image 3-26. A page from a print Shepard's Citations volume, including listings for United States v. Olson in the third column.

Images and Captions, Chapter 4

  • title="Image 4-1. The beginning of an Act of Congress in the United States Statutes at Large. Animal Fighting Prohibition Enforcement Act of 2007, Pub. L. No. 110-22, 121 Stat. 88."
  • title="Image 4-2. A section of the United States Code, showing § 2 of Pub. L. No. 110-22 as codified. 18 U.S.C. § 49 (Supp. V 2011)."
  • title="Image 4-3. The main search page on the Office of Law Revision Counsel’s beta United States Code site."
  • title="Image 4-4. The list of United States Code titles, indicating which titles have been enacted as positive law."
  • title="Image 4-5. 18 U.S.C. § 49 in the United States Code Annotated, with legislative history and research references."
  • title="Image 4-6. Notes of Decisions in United States Code Annotated."
  • title="Image 4-7. 18 U.S.C. § 49 as it appears on WestlawNext, with tabs for related documents and citing references."
  • title="Image 4-8. The table of contents for chapter 3 of 18 U.S.C., linked from the WestlawNext display of § 49."
  • title="Image 4-9. 18 U.S.C. § 49 as it appears on Lexis Advance, with case notes and links to Shepard’s and pending legislation."
  • title="Image 4-10. The KeyCite display for a federal statute, showing the wide range of citing sources."
  • title="Image 4-11. The Shepard’s display for the statute, with excerpts from citing decisions."
  • title="Image 4-12. A Shepard’s list of documents citing specific subsections of a statute, from a "Subsection reports by specific court citation" link."
  • title="Image 4-13. An excerpt from the United States Code Annotated index, as shown on WestlawNext."
  • title="Image 4-14. An entry for Pub. L. No. 110-22 in WestlawNext’s popular name table."
  • title="Image 4-15. An excerpt from a parallel reference table in WestlawNext, showing where sections of Pub. L. No. 110-22 are codified."
  • title="Image 4-16. A page from a state code, with statutory text, historical notes, case annotations, and other references. Ind. Code. Ann. §§ 14-22-6-1 and 14-22-6-2 (LexisNexis 2003)."
  • title="Image 4-17. The beginning of a 50-state statutory survey on WestlawNext."
  • title="Image 4-18. Entries from Subject Compilations of State Law, including a website, a law review article, and a book."
  • title="Image 4-19. The Nineteenth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution, as printed in United States Code Annotated."
  • title="Image 4-20. Notes of Decisions construing the Nineteenth Amendment, in U.S.C.A."
  • title="Image 4-21. Interpretive Notes and Decisions for the same amendment, in United States Code Service."
  • title="Image 4-22. Discussion of the Nineteenth Amendment in The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation, S. Doc. No. 108-17 (Johnny H. Killian et al. eds., 2004)."

Images and Captions, Chapter 5

  • title="Image 5-1. H.R. 137, the bill that would become the Animal Fighting Prohibition Enforcement Act of 2007, as introduced in the House."
  • title="Image 5-2. The first page of a committee report on the Animal Fighting Prohibition Enforcement Act of 2007. H.R. Rep. No. 110-27, pt. 1 (2007)."
  • title="Image 5-3. A page from the Congressional Record, showing House consideration of the Animal Fighting Prohibition Enforcement Act of 2007. 153 Cong. Rec. H3031 (daily ed. Mar. 26, 2007)."
  • title="Image 5-4. A page from the Congressional Record Daily Digest, including at bottom right indication of the debate and passage of the animal fighting law."
  • title="Image 5-5. The first page of Animal Fighting Prohibition Enforcement Act of 2005: Hearing Before the Subcomm. on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security of the H. Comm. on the Judiciary, 109th Cong. (2005), on an earlier version of the bill eventually passed in 2007."
  • title="Image 5-6. Excerpt from the front page of LLSDC’s Legislative Source Book, showing some of the wide range of available resources."
  • title="Image 5-7. The Congress.gov summary for H.R. 137, the bill that became the Animal Fighting Prohibition Enforcement Act of 2007, with tabs for text versions, major actions, and related material."
  • title="Image 5-8. The beginning of the ProQuest Legislative Insight legislative history for the Animal Fighting Prohibition Enforcement Act of 2007."
  • title="Image 5-9. ProQuest Congressional’s Advanced Search screen."
  • title="Image 5-10. PQ Congressional abstract of the hearing shown earlier, including both the CIS Number (2006-H521-73) used to find the document in ProQuest’s online and microfiche collections and the Sudoc Number (Y4.J 89/1:109-115) used in most libraries for filing print government documents."
  • title="Image 5-11. WestlawNext’s list of legislative history materials for 18 U.S.C. § 49, showing links to several documents dealing with the Animal Fighting Prohibition Act of 2007."
  • title="Image 5-12. A CQ Weekly story on the progress of animal fighting legislation in the 110th Congress."
  • title="Image 5-13. The National Conference of State Legislatures’ page with links to state legislative websites."
  • title="Image 5-14. WestlawNext’s display of history materials available for an Alaska statute, including bill drafts and editor ’s and revisor ’s notes."
  • title="Image 5-15. A legislative history summary on the Alaska State Legislature website, with links to material such as fiscal notes, amendments, and audio files."
  • title="Image 5-16. A similar summary on the Hawaii State Legislature site, with links to bill versions and testimony."
  • title="Image 5-17. The Initiative & Referendum Institute’s state-by-state guide to I&R procedures."

Images and Captions, Chapter 6

  • title="Image 6-1. A typical federal agency website, showing links to the laws and regulations the agency administers.”
  • title="Image 6-2. LSU’s Federal Agency Directory, expanded to show offices within the Department of the Interior.”
  • title="Image 6-3. The first page of the Federal Regulatory Directory’s coverage of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.”
  • title="Image 6-4. Federalregister.gov’s presentation of a Federal Registerissue.”
  • title="Image 6-5. A federal regulation as it appears on Federalregister.gov.”
  • title="Image 6-6. The same regulation, as printed in the official Federal Register. This is the first page of a 37-page document summarizing and explaining the rulemaking action.”
  • title="Image 6-7. The page of the final rule in the Federal Register showing the text of the amendments made to the Code of Federal Regulations. Listing Three Python Species and One Anaconda Species as Injurious Reptiles, 77 Fed. Reg. 3330, 3366 (Jan. 23, 2012) (to be codified at 50 C.F.R. § 16.15).”
  • title="Image 6-8. The regulations.gov folder for the injurious reptile rulemaking, showing that 49,534 comments were received.”
  • title="Image 6-9. The table of contents for the CFR Part on injurious wildlife, from Title 50 (Wildlife and Fisheries), Chapter I (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service), Subchapter B (Taking, Possession, Transporation, Sale, Purchase, Barter, Exportation, and Importation of Wildlife and Plants), followed by notes of the statutory authority and the primary Federal Register source for the regulations.”
  • title="Image 6-10. The CFR section on injurious reptiles, incorporating 2012 amendments. 50 C.F.R. § 16.15 (2012).”
  • title="Image 6-11. The same section on WestlawNext, including tabbed links to citing documents.”
  • title="Image 6-12. An excerpt from the CFR index on WestlawNext.”
  • title="Image 6-13. An excerpt from LSA: List of CFR Sections Affected, showing Federal Register pages of amendments in late 2011 (bold) and early 2012 (roman). The amendment to 50 C.F.R. § 16.15 is the first item listed.”
  • title="Image 6-14. A listing from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife website of some of its guidance documents.”
  • title="Image 6-15. Fish and Wildlife’s Electronic Reading Room of frequently requested FOIA documents.”
  • title="Image 6-16. The first page of an administrative adjudication from the Department of the Interior’s Office of Hearings and Appeals. Reptile Masters, Inc., 28 O.H.A. 279 (Dep’t of Interior Aug. 12, 2004).”
  • title="Image 6-17. Annotations of Department of the Interior administrative decisions following a statute in United States Code Service, on Lexis Advance.”
  • title="Image 6-18. An executive order, as printed in the Federal Register. Exec. Order No. 13,642, 78 Fed. Reg. 28,111 (May 9, 2013).”
  • title="Image 6-19. A page from the American Presidency Project website, listing some of the documents available.”
  • title="Image 6-20. A city ordinance on keeping snakes and other animals, as available on Municode.com. Las Cruces, N.M., Code of Ordinances § 7-151 (1998).”

Images and Captions, Chapter 7

  • title="Image 7-1. Rule 6 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, as it appears on WestlawNext. Note the link to more than 65,000 citing references."
  • title="Image 7-2. Some of the annotations for Rule 6 on WestlawNext."
  • title="Image 7-3. Commentary on Rule 6 in a leading treatise on the federal rules. 4B Charles Alan Wright & Arthur R. Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure§ 1171 (3d ed. 2002)."
  • title="Image 7-4. The "Rules and Policies" page of the United States Courts website, with information on current, pending, and proposed rules."
  • title="Image 7-5. The American Bar Association Center for Professional Responsibility’s links to state rules of professional conduct, ethics opinions, and other resources."
  • title="Image 7-6. A rule of professional conduct, with comment and annotation discussing the rule’s background and application. Ellen J. Bennett et al., Annotated Model Rules of Professional Conduct317 (7th ed. 2011)."
  • title="Image 7-7. The Advanced Search screen for The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978."
  • title="Image 7-8. A page from The United States Law Week, showing Supreme Court actions and summarizing recently filed cases."
  • title="Image 7-9. A docket on the Supreme Court’s website."
  • title="Image 7-10. A typical PACER search screen, showing the available options for searching such as case number and party name."
  • title="Image 7-11. Bloomberg Law’s docket search screen, with a broader range of search options including keywords."
  • title="Image 7-12. A docket as it appears on Bloomberg Law, with links to the full text of documents."
  • title="Image 7-13. An excerpt from Almanac of the Federal Judiciary, as it appears on WestlawNext."
  • title="Image 7-14. A profile in the Federal Judicial Center’s Biographical Directory of Federal Judges."
  • title="Image 7-15. A sample form from American Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms, Annotated, as it appears on WestlawNext."
  • title="Image 7-16. A sample model jury instruction."

Images and Captions, Chapter 8

  • title="Image 8-1. The search screen for RIA Checkpoint, indicating the broad array of primary, secondary, and current awareness materials available."
  • title="Image 8-2. Bloomberg BNA’s Tax and Accounting Center, again showing a broad range of available resources."
  • title="Image 8-3. A page from CCH’s Standard Federal Tax Reporter, showing excerpts from committee reports on amendments to § 213 of the Internal Revenue Code governing deductibility of medical expenses, followed by the beginning of an Internal Revenue Service regulation with more specific information."
  • title="Image 8-4. The beginning of CCH’s explanation of moving expense deductions in the Standard Federal Tax Reporter.
  • title="Image 8-5. Annotations of Tax Court decisions on moving expenses in the Standard Federal Tax Reporter."
  • title="Image 8-6. An excerpt from the topical index for the Standard Federal Tax Reporter. Note that references are to paragraph numbers (at the bottom of the page in Images 8-3 through 8-5) and not to page numbers, which are used only for filing purposes."
  • title="Image 8-7. The SSRN search screen."
  • title="Image 8-8. SSRN search results, including published articles and working papers available for free download."
  • title="Image 8-9. A list of the various e-mail updates available from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration."
  • title="Image 8-10. Search results in The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926."
  • title="Image 8-11. Federal court statistics, available in Judicial Business of the U.S. Courts."
  • title="Image 8-12. The main page of Court Statistics Project, source for caseload statistics and organization information on state courts."
  • title="Image 8-13. A table from the Statistical Abstract 2012 on pet ownership in U.S. households, including a reference to an American Veterinary Medical Association resource for further information."
  • title="Image 8-14. Summary of a Gallup poll on pet ownership."
  • title="Image 8-15. A lawyer’s profile on Martindale.com."
  • title="Image 8-16. The LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations display for Tazo Tea Company, showing that it is a subsidiary of Starbucks Corporation."
  • title="Image 8-17. Financial reports and other filings by Starbucks, on the SEC’s EDGAR system."
  • title="Image 8-18. Web of Knowledge’s display of articles citing a 1969 article by Morris Cohen."
  • title="Image 8-19. WorldCat’s information about a book, with options for finding a copy online or in a library."

Images and Captions, Chapter 9

  • title="Image 9-1. An article from the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law."
  • title="Image 9-2. A few of the resources available in HeinOnline’s Foreign & International Law Resources Database."
  • title="Image 9-3. A treaty as published in United States Treaties and Other International Agreements. Treaty on Extradition, U.S.-New Zealand, Jan. 12, 1970, 22 U.S.T. 1."
  • title="Image 9-4. The U.S. Department of State’s Treaty Affairs website, with links to Treaties in Forceand other resources."
  • title="Image 9-5. An excerpt from Treaties in Force, showing the status of the extradition treaty and other agreements with New Zealand."
  • title="Image 9-6. Annotations of case interpreting extradition treaties, in an Annotations to Uncodified Laws and Treaties volume of United States Code Service."
  • title="Image 9-7. A page from Digest of United States Practice in International Law 2010."
  • title="Image 9-8. The first page of a treaty in the United Nations Treaty Series, including a footnote identifying the ratifications that caused the treaty to enter into force. Agreement on the Conservation of Small Cetaceans of the Baltic and North Seas, Mar. 17, 1992, 1772 U.N.T.S. 217 [hereinafter ASCOBANS]."
  • title="Image 9-9. The ASCOBANS entry in the Flare Index to Treaties, with links to online versions and information about its citation and authentic texts."
  • title="Image 9-10. The introductory screen of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General (MTDSG), listing treaties by subject."
  • title="Image 9-11. The MTDSG entry for ASCOBANS, listing the citation and parties."
  • title="Image 9-12. The ASCOBANS website, with further information on the agreement, amendments, and other resources."
  • title="Image 9-13. The opening page of an International Court of Justice judgment. Dispute Regarding Navigational and Related Rights (Costa Rica v. Nicaragua), 2009 I.C.J. 213 (July 13)."
  • title="Image 9-14. The table of contents of the first Yearbook of the United Nations, available on the UN website."
  • title="Image 9-15. The opening screen of europa.eu, the website of the European Union, available in any of the EU’s 23 official languages.
  • title="Image 9-16. The EU Law section of the European Union website."
  • title="Image 9-17. The American Society of International Law’s Electronic Resource Guide, with more than a dozen subject chapters."

Images and Captions, Chapter 10

  • title="Image 10-1. JuriGlobe’s map of the West Indies, showing civil law and common law jurisdictions."
  • title="Image 10-2. A page from Export.gov’s Country Commercial Guidefor Jamaica."
  • title="Image 10-3. The introductory screen of International Encyclopaedia of Laws for Cyber Lawon KluwerOnline, showing the national monographs available."
  • title="Image 10-4. A page from the Jamaica monograph of International Encyclopaedia of Laws for Cyber Law."
  • title="Image 10-5. The beginning of the Jamaica section of Foreign Law Guide."
  • title="Image 10-6. A Jamaican legal research guide on GlobaLex."
  • title="Image 10-7. HeinOnline’s World Constitutions Illustrated collection, showing some of the materials available on the Jamaican constitution."
  • title="Image 10-8. French codes available in English translation through Legifrance.gouv.fr."
  • title="Image 10-9. An 1831 decision of the Court of King’s Bench as published in The English Reports, with bracketed star paging references to the original nominative reporter. M‘Kone v. Wood, (1831) 172 Eng. Rep. 850 (K.B.); 5 C.& P. 1."
  • title="Image 10-10. The British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII) search page for House of Lords decisions."
  • title="Image 10-11. The Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII) search page for Supreme Court of Canada decisions."
  • title="Image 10-12. A page from the legal encyclopedia Halsbury’s Laws of England, 5th ed."
  • title="Image 10-13. A British statute, as available from legislation.gov.uk. Animal Welfare Act 2006, c. 45 (U.K.)."
  • title="Image 10-14. A Canadian statute, as available from Justice Laws Website, laws.justice.gc.ca. Animal Pedigree Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. 8 (4th Supp.)."

© by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia