Skip to main content

Faculty Services: Library A to Z for Law Faculty

Library information and services for faculty at the University of Virginia School of Law.

Dean Goluboff with Leslie Ashbrook in the library

Access to the Library

The Law Library is open to the University community as well as the general public.

Faculty office keys may be used to enter/exit the library after hours. Circulation Desk staff will be happy to show you how to use your office key to bypass the alarm system on library doors.  

The main entrance to the Law School offers handicapped parking and automatic doors for wheelchair accessibility. The rear entrance offers a ramp and automatic doors that lead to an elevator to the first floor. Faculty members who need assistance should call the Circulation Desk at 434-924-3384. For questions or comments, please call or email Cathy Palombi, Access Services Librarian (434-924-3519; cpalombi@law.virginia.edu).

Accounts, Log-ins & IDs

The University, the Law School, and the Library use many computer systems and networks and sometimes these systems require separate and unique user accounts. Here's a guide to some of the most common ones you'll run into in the Law Library.

University Computing Account. This is UVA's main computing account with user IDs based on the user's initials (e.g., mst3k).  The computing ID is typically used with Eservices, Netbadge, Home Directory, and the Lawschool domain (see below).

Lawschool Domain Account. This is used for logging into the Law School's computer network for access to the LawWeb intranet and networked printing services. The login is usually your computing ID with a password of your choice.

LawWeb. LawWeb is an intranet for the exclusive use of law school faculty and students. 

Virgo Account.  Virgo is the main library system for finding and checking out books. Faculty are automatically registered in Virgo (the library's circulation system) and in the InterLibrary Loan system which includes campus-wide delivery.The "Sign In" link at the top of the Virgo screen allows you to log in with Netbadge and then manage your Virgo account: view your current checkouts and due dates, renew items, check the status of interlibrary loan requests, view overdue notices, etc. 

Library Databases, Lexis, Westlaw and Bloomberg Law. Most library subscriptions to electronic resources are restricted to users on the UVA network and do not require an individual login. Three exceptions are Lexis, Westlaw and Bloomberg Law. The library establishes Lexis, Westlaw and Bloomberg Law accounts for faculty members but account logins and passwords are maintained by each individual. 

Interlibrary Loan Services. Law School faculty accounts are maintained by the library. Faculty should contact refdesk to place their interlibrary loan requests. 

Photocopying, Printing and Scanning Account. Faculty accounts and billing codes are set up by the Business Office. PIN numbers are created by each faculty member.    

Eservices Account. Eservices is a UVA-wide domain, accessible from most computers on grounds, but not from the Law Library's public computers, which require a Lawschool domain account.

Netbadge Account. Netbadge is a UVA-wide authentication service used to confirm a patron's affiliation with UVA.

UVaAnywhere VPN and EZProxy. There are two options for authorized users to access UVA network services from remote locations. Most library databases are licensed for use on UVA networks only. These services permit access to remote users as if they were on grounds. 

Guest Wireless Account. Wireless access at the Law School is restricted to registered users. Law-ITC will assist faculty with wireless setup and registration.

Book Delivery Services

The library provides a daily courier service for law faculty who need items from any of the other UVa libraries on grounds. Items are usually delivered next day, Monday through Friday. Faculty should email delivery requests to refdeskThe library also offers a free Student Delivery Service for law students daily, Monday through Friday, with some restrictions on the number and types of items that can be requested. 

Book Donations and Gifts

The Law Library welcomes the donation of books and gifts that enhance learning and support instruction at the Law School. Donations and gifts will be reviewed and accepted based on our current collection development policy. Donations and gifts are handled by the Library Director, Taylor Fitchett (924-7725; tfitchett@law.virginia.edu).

Carrels

Study carrels are available to faculty research assistants, L.L.M. and S.J.D students, and law school journal members for a semester or year. Inquire at the Circulation Desk about carrel assignments. A number of carrels on the first, second and third floors are unassigned and can be used by anyone on a first come, first served basis, for private study.

Checking Out Books

Faculty members may contact refdesk to request the checkout of any items in the UVA library system or via InterLibrary Loan and these will be delivered to your office.  Most library materials circulate for an indefinite period, subject to recall as needed. Certain materials in the Reserve and Reference collections may be checked out for short periods. Rare books and archival materials do not circulate at all and must be used in the Special Collections room.  Renewals may be requested in person, by telephone (924-3384), by e-mail (circulation@law.virginia.edu) or by logging into your Virgo account.

Checking Out Equipment

The library keeps a small collection of electronic accessories at the Circulation Desk for occasional use by patrons who forget to pack a flash drive or power cord. Users can borrow 4GB flash drives, extension cords, power cords/chargers for Mac and PC laptops, phone chargers, headphones, power strips, etc. for three hour periods. The library does not lend laptops or computer tablets (contact the IT dept.).  

The Circulation Desk also has a supply of free ear plugs and replacement light bulbs for library desk lamps. 

Computers

Most of the computers in the library require a login and a Law School computing account. Non-Law patrons may register for a guest account using a credit card ($5 minimum).

Courtesy computers are available for patrons who do not have accounts. They are located in the first floor reading room and near the Reference Desk on the second floor. These computers have a 3-page print limit and are reserved for short-term use only.

Contact Information

E-mail: refdesk@law.virginia.edu
Phone: (434) 924-3384
FAX: (434) 982-7239
Web Page: http://www.law.virginia.edu/library
Address: 580 Massie Road
Charlottesville, VA 22903
Messenger Mail: PO Box 400405 Law School Building

Copiers, Printers and Scanners

The reference staff can assist faculty with printing, duplicating and capturing data from online and print sources (924-7465; refdesk@law.virginia.edu). Faculty research assistants can be set up to use billing codes to charge printing and photocopy fees to faculty accounts. For more information on the multifunction printers in the library see the Printing, Copying & Scanning FAQ

Databases, E-Subscriptions, E-Books, and E-Journals

The Law Library and the University Library subscribe jointly and separately to many electronic resources under various licensing arrangements. For information on these databases, e-journals and e-books (including access instructions and restrictions), see the Electronic Subscriptions guide.

DVDs and Videos

The DVD and video collection is available for checkout only to students, faculty, or staff members of UVA. The loan period is for 7 days. Faculty may borrow up to 5 titles at a time, and returns may be made to any UVA library. If you would like to suggest titles for purchase, please e-mail or call Cathy Palombi (cpalombi@law.virginia.edu, 924-3519).

Exams Archive

Old exams are available in paper copy in the Reserve room (dating back to 1993) for anyone to peruse or copy, and electronically on LawWeb. Archived exams (in either format) are made available for viewing only if requested by the professor. Should you wish to include an exam in the archives, please contact Cathy Palombi (cpalombi@law.virginia.edu) or Tim Breeden (breeden@law.virginia.edu) for paper copies, and Micheal Klepper (mklepper@law.virginia.edu) for electronic copies.

Finding Books and Articles

Virgo is the online catalog for the University of Virginia. Users may limit their searches to materials located in the Law Library or may search for all materials, online and in print, held by UVA libraries. Virgo can help patrons find books, call numbers, databases, electronic journals, audio and video materials, and online articles. Public computers are available for all patrons in the first floor reading room and near the Reference Desk.  For floor maps of the library you can either click on the Map icon for specific directions while viewing your item in Virgo or you can view the Maps & Directions Guide for collection location information.

Group Study Rooms

A number of group study rooms are available for UVA law student use on the first and second floors. Visit the Group Study Room Reservation System for more information and to make a reservation. Other library spaces are available both for study and for study breaks.

Instructional Videos on Using Library Resources

The Law Library's reference librarians have prepared a series of brief, instructional videos for law students as well as for public patrons. The topics range from "Introduction to Basic Legal Citations" and "How to Find Materials in the UVa Libraries" to "Researching Modifying Child Support in Virginia." These may be found at Library Research and Instruction.

InterLibrary Loan Services

Law School faculty requests for Inter-Library Loan (ILL) services are usually handled by refdesk. Contact refdesk if you'd like to place an ILL request, have questions about a pending request or need to keep a borrowed item past its ILL due date. 

Libra, UVA's Institutional Repository

Libra is UVA’s open-access repository for long-term preservation of scholarship produced by its faculty.  It allows UVA faculty members to make completed versions of their works (e.g., preprints and published articles) freely available to the general public for non-commercial research and scholarship.  Making works freely available through a central, stable storage location makes them more widely accessible to researchers.  While it is virtually impossible to guarantee that any work will be retrievable in absolute perpetuity, UVA does provide reasonable assurance that secure backup procedures and data management techniques will be employed to preserve the scholarship deposited in Libra for as long as is feasible. 

When you deposit a work in Libra, you grant UVA a non-exclusive right to distribute your work through the Libra website.  You will want to carefully review the Libra website, particularly “Libra Deposit Licenses” and Libra’s “Open Access Works: FAQs,” before you deposit any works. 

Lost and Found

Lost and found items are kept on open shelves in the Reserve room, except for items of value such as keys, wallets, and jewelry. Inquire about these at the Circulation Desk.

Maps and Directions

For floor maps of the library with collection location information, driving directions, and maps of UVA Grounds, see the Maps & Directions Guide.

Media and Microforms

The microform collection contains the equivalent of 180,000 volumes, and is located on the second floor, behind myLab. Reader/printers are also available, free of charge, for anyone wanting to view or make copies. The office of the Media Librarian, Micheal Klepper (mklepper@law.virginia.edu or 434-924-3495), is located opposite the microform area and questions regarding the collection and equipment should be directed to him.

Mobile Access to Library Information

An increasing number of online resources are becoming available through sites that are friendly to mobile devices. We're also working toward enhancing the Law Library website to provide a better experience for our mobile device users and to provide information about apps that are useful for research. Visit the mobile site and let us know what you think.

Overdue Books and Fines

Books

10 cents per day per item; $5 maximum per item

Periodicals and Recalled Items

$1 per day per item; $20 maximum per item

In-Library and Overnight Reserve

$1 per hour per item; $20 maximum per item

DVD’s, Videos, Sound Recordings

$1 per day per item; $20 maximum per item

 

Faculty are not typically charged overdue fines. Failure to respond to an overdue or recall notice, however, may result in suspension of library services by other UVA Libraries. Faculty who have lost a book or just need to keep the book longer than the original loan period should contact the Reference Desk  (924-7465; refdesk@law.virginia.edu) to keep their account from being suspended.

Privacy Policy

The Law Library supports our patrons’ confidentiality and privacy rights as expressed in the American Library Association’s Code of Ethics, in UVA’s Policy on Disclosure of Records, and in the American Association of Law Libraries’ Ethical Principles. We maintain a minimal amount of personal information on the library’s systems in order to process circulation transactions, e-mail notifications, overdue fine collections, etc. but this information is never shared with third parties except as required by law. 

The library collects usage analytics on some of its web pages by means of first-party cookies. No personal identification information is collected. You may opt out by turning off cookies on your browser or by using an opt-out add-on. A link for opting out is found at the bottom of each Law Library webpage.

Reference Assistance

Reference librarians can also be reached by telephone at (434) 924-7465 or by e-mail at refdesk@law.virginia.edu. For more information on research support services for faculty see the library's Faculty Services web page.

Remote Access to Network Databases

Most library databases and e-resources are restricted by license to users on the UVA network.  However, UVA-affiliated users may access these resources from home or from other remote sites by means of our EZProxy server or the UVaAnywhere service. For information on these services and how to register, visit our Off Grounds Access FAQ page.

Renewal Requests

Most materials may be renewed by calling the Circulation Desk (924-3384) or by logging into your personal Virgo account. Interlibrary loan items cannot usually be renewed; renewal information is posted on the cover of the item borrowed, or you can contact the Reference Desk (924-7465; refdesk@law.virginia.edu) to inquire about an ILL renewal.

Research Tools

While the library has created a number of Research Guides to help our patrons, the major service point for faculty is refdesk, an e-mail address for the exclusive use of law school faculty. For more information on research support services for faculty see the library's Faculty Services web page.

Special Collections

The Special Collections department is on the third floor of the library and contains rare books, manuscripts and archival materials. For complete information on using Special Collections see the Special Collections web site.

Staff Listing

Ambuske Jim Postdoctoral Fellow 982-3072 ambuske@law.virginia.edu WB303B
Ashbrook Leslie Reference 243-2493 ashbrook@law.virginia.edu WB235
Ashley Jon Business Research 924-4730 jonashley@law.virginia.edu WB282
Breeden Tim Circulation 924-0940 breeden@law.virginia.edu Circulation
Brown Cecilia Special Collections 924-6703 cbrown@law.virginia.edu WB262
Doherty Ben Reference 924-7726 bendoherty@law.virginia.edu WB234
Fitchett Taylor Administration 924-7725 tfitchett@law.virginia.edu WB237c
Flaherty Randi Special Collections 924-6355 rflaherty@law.virginia.edu WB237a
Gaulding Anne Circulation 924-3384 agaulding@law.virginia.edu Circulation
Glover Kristin Reference 243-2494 kglover@law.virginia.edu WB232b
Gobin Kip Serials 924-3745 kgobin@law.virginia.edu WB264c
Hawes Rebecca Faculty Services Coordinator 924-8558 rebhawes@law.virginia.edu Circulation
Huntley Diane Interlibrary Loan 924-3511 dhuntley@law.virginia.edu WB262
Jakubow Alex Empirical Research Librarian 924-4736 ajakubow@law.virginia.edu WB280
Jenkins Katherine Circulation 924-3384 kjenkins@law.virginia.edu Circulation
Kiesler Diana Foreign and International 982-2847 dkiesler@law.virginia.edu WB236a
Klepper Micheal Publications/Microforms 924-3495 mklepper@law.virginia.edu WB209
Luu Xinh Foreign and International 924-3970 xluu@law.virginia.edu WB233b
Moulds Loren Digital Collections 924-3877 moulds@law.virginia.edu WB303c
Olson Kent Reference 924-4734 kolson@law.virginia.edu WB233a
Palombi Cathy Access Services 924-3519 cpalombi@law.virginia.edu WB117
Roper John Business Research 924-4327 jroper@law.virginia.edu WB262a
Seale Anita Cataloging 924-3460 aseale@law.virginia.edu WB264b
Simpson Marnita Government Documents 924-3504 msimpson@law.virginia.edu WB211
West Joy Acquisitions 924-0502 jwest@law.virginia.edu WB262b
Wharton Amy Research & Web Services 924-1816 amywharton@law.virginia.edu WB264a
Wood Carol Sue Serials & Web Services 924-0957 cswood@law.virginia.edu WB262

UVA Library System

The UVA library system consists of the University of Virginia Library (Alderman Library, Clemons Library and departmental libraries) as well as the independent, professional school libraries for Health Sciences, Business and Law.  All the libraries use the same Virgo library catalog for checking materials out although there are sometimes slight local variations in circulation policies.  For more information on the UVA library system, see the University of Virginia Library web site.

VIRGO Library Catalog

Virgo is UVA's library catalog. It is the primary resource for finding books and articles, for looking up call numbers and locations, for placing Inter-Library Loan requests, for recalling items that are checked out, and for requesting items from the off-site Ivy Storage facility. It is also a source for linking to the electronic resources and databases covered under library subscriptions. There is an older version of Virgo called Virgo Classic which has a more traditional interface with browse search functionality.

The Virgo login at the top of the screen uses Netbadge authentication to show your current checkouts, due dates, renewals, etc. Interlibrary loan PIN numbers for law faculty are managed by the library since faculty Interlibrary loan requests are normally handled by refdesk. Interlibrary loan PIN numbers for law students usually consist of the last 4 digits of your UVA ID number or last 4 digits of your SSN.

Wireless Access

Wireless computing is available to University students, faculty and staff on a secured wireless network (Cavalier). All other patrons have the choice of using the library's public computers or registering for a short-term guest account on the unsecured Wahoo wireless network. Instructions for wireless registration and for obtaining a passcode are available at the Law Library's Circulation Desk.