- ALM Legal Intelligence
LAW SCHOOL USE ONLY. Access via LawWeb.
Surveys, rankings, and data about major law firms, the legal market, and corporate legal departments.
- American Economic Association Journals
Browse or search the American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, Journal of Economic Perspectives, American Economic Journals: Applied Economics, Economic Policy, Macroeconomics, and Microeconomics.
- Audio Case Files / Courtroom View Network
Audio recordings of opinions found in case books. Audio files are arranged by course or by casebook. Can be downloaded to an MP3 player or burned to an audio CD. Video files of selected trials and hearings may be viewed online.
- Bloomberg Law
- Business Source Complete
Topics such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) offers interactive legal education lessons supporting an array of law school course subjects.
- Constitutions of the Countries of the World
188 country constitutions with English translations, plus extensive expert commentary. Search for topics across all nations. Older editions are available in print
through Alderman Library.
- CQ Press Electronic Library
Access to CQ Weekly for news of congressional activity, as well as reference works such as Congress and the Nation (summarizing earlier Congresses) and Politics in America (information on members of Congress and their districts).
International economic and financial data in time series format. Includes debt and equity information, commodities, futures, options, exchange rates, interest rates, stock market indices and more. Contact a Law Librarian for access.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
Law and crime subject headings within this database.
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Law and crime subject headings within this database.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO), 1475-1700
Significant works published in English from 1475 to 1700. Numerous law subject headings.
- ebrary: Law Books
Browse a growing collection of thousands of recent digitized law books from university presses and other scholarly publishers. Individual titles are listed in Virgo. The Law collection is featured, but you can browse to find books from other disciplines.
International coverage of economics in journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews.
- Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO), 1701-1800
Searchable full text and page images for books, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, etc. in languages native to the British Isles and North America, and in English from the rest of the world. See also Early American Imprints.
Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles.
- Family Law Reporter (BNA) [access via LawWeb]
This Bureau of National Affairs newsletter covers important new federal and state cases, legislation, trends, and issues. Access information for U.Va. Law students and faculty is available on LawWeb.
- FirstSearch (OCLC)
FirstSearch is an another option for searching WorldCat (to identify books and materials available from libraries worldwide) and journal indexes from OCLC. The menu allows simultaneous searching of multiple databases.
- Foreign Law Guide
Guide to finding sources of codes and legislation from countries around the world.
- Google Scholar
Though not a UVA subscription database, Google Scholar integrates "Find at UVA" links to articles accessed through UVA-subscribed databases like HeinOnline. Use this link to use Google Scholar from off-Grounds. The UVA-licensed resources you discover will be accessible through the EZProxy server. See our off-Grounds access FAQ
for more information.
Retrospective, full-text .pdf coverage of hundreds of legal periodicals, U.S. Supreme Court cases, the U.S. Statutes at Large, Congressional Record, hearings and other legislative history materials, Federal Register, U.S. Attorney General opinions, U.S. treaties and agreements, Foreign and International Law, Israel Law Reports, English Reports, and the Virginia Law Weekly archive. Searchable by citation, author/title, and keyword.
- Historical Statistics of the United States
Quantitative historical data covering American population, work and welfare, economic structure, governance, and international relations from colonial times to the present.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Users may view documentation, download raw data, and search a bibliography of data-related literature. Free individual registration is required.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in hundreds of legal journals, yearbooks, and collected works published worldwide, with coverage from 1985.
- Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, 1981-present
Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text indexes hundreds of journals from 1981-date, with full text coverage of selected journals beginning in 1995 and page-image PDFs for most of these titles 2001-date. See also Index to Legal Periodicals Retro, which provides index coverage from 1908-1981.
- Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective, 1908-1981
Indexes hundreds of legal journals from the US and other English-speaking countries. For more recent journals, see Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text.
- International Financial Statistics
Thousands of time series covering more than 200 countries and areas. Includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages; exchange rate series; major Fund accounts series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS World Tables.
- International Law Reports via Justis
[Click "Continue to Justis" to access.]
Provides coverage in English of all significant public international law cases back to 1919, from international courts, arbitrators and domestic courts.
- JSTOR Academic Journals
Retrospective coverage, similar to HeinOnline, for scholarly journals across multiple disciplines, including economics, history, philosophy, and political science.
- Kluwer Arbitration
Bilateral and multilateral investment treaties, case law, legislation for key jurisdictions, rules from major arbitral institutions; books, journals and looseleafs. From 1976 to present, with older foundational documents.
- Kluwer Competition Law
European Union competition law, including European Commission decisions and related documents, case law and national legislation; analytic content including books (e.g., Competition Law of Western Europe and the USA, and journals such as World Competition.
- Kluwer International Encyclopaedia of Laws (IEL)
This series describes how each national legal system and supranational organization governs major fields of law, such as contracts, intellectual property, and labor law.
- Leadership Directories Online ("Yellow Books") [access via LawWeb]
Searchable versions of the entire Yellow Books collection, including Judicial,Federal, Congressional, State, Municipal, Law Firms, Corporate, Financial, Government Affairs, Foreign Representatives, Associations, Nonprofits, and News Media. May be accessed only through the Leadership Directories link in the Library section in LawWeb.
InfoTrac’s index to hundreds of law-related periodicals, with coverage from 1980. Contains selected full-text articles.
- Lexis / LexisAdvance
A comprehensive collection of legal and general databases, including cases, statutes, Shepard’s Citations, journal articles, and news. UVA Law students and faculty have access via password.
- LexisNexis Academic
LN Academic offers news, business, medical, and legal information, including case law, Shepard's Citations, statutes, and law review articles.
- LLMC Digital
Retrospective legal sources. Includes a wide range of federal and state court reports, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. federal administrative decisions, English Reports (Full Reprint) and other British and Canadian court reports, and subject collections on British Empire studies, military law, and Native American legal documents.
- Making of Modern Law, Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
A searchable database of more than 21,000 19th and 20th Century Anglo-American legal works including casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches and more.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL)
An updated, comprehensive work comprised of articles on essential topics in international law. Articles are written by legal scholars and practitioners and are reviewed by the members of the MPEPIL Advisory Board.
- Mergent Online
Information on over 35,000 current and former publicly traded companies, both from the US and from around the world. Company histories and over 200,000 annual reports in pdf, 30 years of stock prices, etc.
- NAACP Papers
The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces. Collection will expand over time. See also microfiche at Alderman Library
- OECD iLibrary
Full text (in PDF format) of all books, reports, periodicals, and statistical databases published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
- Oxford Reports on International Law in Domestic Courts
ILDC covers international law as applied in the domestic courts of around 70 jurisdictions. Base coverage is from 2000 to present, with older cases being added in reverse chronological order, and includes the most significant cases regardless of their date.
Docket information for federal courts. May contain full text .pdf documents. Includes the U.S. Party Case Index for nationwide searches by specific party or nature of suit. Students may register for their own access; reference librarians will conduct searches upon request. Note: Bloomberg Law is the preferred source for dockets in most instances.
- Plunkett Research
Profiles of selected industries with trends, data and news along with reports on companies in the industry.
- ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional provides legislative history information and access to a wide range of congressional documents, including published and unpublished hearings, CRS reports, committee reports, and committee prints.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post.
- ProQuest Legislative Insight
Federal legislative history service. Includes the Public Law, all versions of related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, prints, Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and additional background material.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
Formerly LexisNexis Statistical Insight, contains statistics produced by federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental organizations, including U.S. federal statistical publications (1973 - ), international statistical publications from the UN, EU, OECD, etc. (1983 - ), and U.S. state government, business, and research institute statistical publications (1980 - ).
- Special Ed Connection
Special Ed Connection provides daily news items, judicial and administrative decisions and rulings, and federal and state guidelines dealing with special education.
- SSRN Legal Scholarship Network
SSRN is a repository of pre-publication journal articles submitted by scholars worldwide. Most articles are available without cost. SSRN publishes subject matter abstracting eJournals by subscription. Law faculty may contact refdesk
for information about subscribing.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
- Tax Analysts
Tax Notes Today, Tax Notes, State Tax Today, State Tax Notes, Worldwide Tax Daily, Tax Notes International, Worldwide Tax Treaties.
- Trade Law Guide
Research database for WTO documents, jurisprudence, and analysis.
- Transnational Dispute Management
TDM Journal and for individual countries, legal and regulatory documents that pertain to transnational disputes. Search is open to all. Contact a Law Librarian if you're interested in full text access.
- U.S. Law Week (BNA) [Access via LawWeb]
Weekly summary of federal and state court and administrative cases that establish new precedents, address new statutes, or contribute to emerging legal doctrines or Circuit splits. Archive from 1997 to present. Access information for U.Va. Law students and faculty is available on LawWeb.
- U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832–1978
Filings for more than 150,000 Supreme Court cases, including those for which the court never issued a full opinion. Document types include petitions, briefs, and transcripts, among others.
- Web of Knowledge / Web of Science
Includes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-) Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.
- Westlaw / WestlawNext
A comprehensive commercial site from ThomsonWest, including cases, statutes, KeyCite, journal articles, and news. UVA Law students and faculty have access via password.
- Westlaw China
Provides laws, regulations, cases and articles in Chinese and English.
- WorldCat (Library Catalogs Worldwide)
Online listing with locations of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. Some UVa books are not included. UVa users will see full records and holdings; others will get brief information.
WRDS offers financial, economic, and marketing data, as well as these premium WRDS-enabled databases: AuditAnalytics, COMPUSTAT, CRSP, CUSIP, Eventus, IBES, Risk Metrics, TAQ. Contact a Law Librarian for access.