Skip to main content

Digital Projects: A Guide

A guide to the many digital projects designed, created, and/or maintained by our staff.

A Guide

Corporate Prosecutions Registry website

Corporate Prosecution Registry

A comprehensive collection of documents on federal organizational prosecutions in the United States, covering every prosecution since 2001 as well as deferred and non-prosecution agreements since 1990. Updated weekly.

Dengrove Project website

The Courtroom Sketches of Ida Libby Dengrove

A digital exhibit featuring nearly 6,000 sketches by Ida Libby Dengrove, courtroom artist for WNBC New York from 1972 to 1987. She sketched some of the most noteworthy trials of the late twentieth century and won two Emmys for her work.

Neil Gorsuch Project website

Neil Gorsuch Project

A comprehensive set of opinions and other materials relating to the Hon. Neil Gorsuch’s career on the 10th Circuit Court of Appeals, prepared to provide information to the press and public during his Supreme Court confirmation process.

Dengrove Project website

May 1970 Student Protests

In May 1970, the American invasion of Cambodia led to protests on university campuses across the country, including the University of Virginia. These unpublished photographs from the Virginia Law Weekly archives capture scenes from student rallies.

Photo Collection website

Photograph Collection

Our digital collection or photographs features thousands of images featuring scenes from the Law School's history, the earliest dating from the 1880s. Particularly rare and valuable are class photos from the late nineteenth century.

IMTFE website

The Tokyo War Crimes Trial (IMTFE)

An extensive collection of materials from the International Military Tribunal for the Far East (IMTFE) (1946-48), including the papers of three members of the prosecution team and one defense counsel member.

Kertesz Project website

André Kertész

A collection of André Kertész photographs consisting of fifty 8½ x 11 silver gelatin prints, taken from 1925 to 1969 and donated by an anonymous alumnus of the School of Law in 1985. Accompanying maps provide geographic context.

Travaux Preparatoire website

United Nations Human Rights Treaties Travaux Préparatoires

A database of drafting histories from the major post-World War II human rights treaties, based on the published guides to travaux préparatoires and containing searchable, digital copies of all available English-language documents.

Projects under Development

1828 Catalogue Project website

1828 Catalogue

The 1828 Catalogue Law Books Collection is an ongoing effort to amass the 375 law titles listed in an 1828 inventory of books in the University of Virginia Library. This online collection presents a virtual bookshelf to explore the books we have acquired so far.

Scottish Court of Session Records Project website

Scottish Court of Session Records

A collection of case materials presented before the Scottish Court of Session, the highest civil court in Scotland, from 1759 to 1834. The petitions, memorials, and maps included in this collection offer researchers a rich portal into life and law in the 18th- and 19th-century British empire.

American Death Penalty

County-level datasets, visualizations, and supplementary materials on all death sentences in the United States between 1991 and 2016. Updated annually. 

Inter-American Court of Human Rights

Complete database on the entire universe of cases decided by the Inter-American Court of Human Rights.