Business and Law: Business and Law - Databases (A-Z)

AuditAnalytics provides detailed audit information on over 1,200 accounting firms and 15,000 publicly registered companies. Know auditing details and fees paid for specific services. Create reports by auditor, fees, location, and industry. Register for access.

A comprehensive legal research database from Bloomberg, including dockets, cases, statutes, financial and corporate information and news. UVA Law students and faculty have access via password. Register for access here. You don't need an activation code, but be sure to use an @virginia.edu address.

Topics such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Federal, state and international tax research materials. - Federal: Standard Federal Tax Reporter, U.S. Master Tax Guide, IRS Publications, Internal Revenue Code, U.S. Tax Cases, Federal Estate and Gift Reporter, Internal Revenue Manual, and more.- State: 51 state (+D.C.) tax reporters, State Tax Guide, Multistate Corporation Income Tax Guide, Multistate Sales and Property Tax Guides, State Tax Review.- International: Tax Treaties Reporter.

COMPUSTAT North America provides historic data on over 24,000 active and inactive publicly held U.S. & Canadian companies. It provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items. Register for access.

The Corporate Library offers annual historical data captures for each proxy year beginning in 2001. Information includes: Corporate Board Structure and Independence; Director Positions and Committee Assignments; Executive Compensation; Director Compensation; Audit Fees; Corporate Ownership; and Takeover Defenses. Register for access.

CRSP provides unparalleled historic stock price data for companies listed on AMEX, NASDAQ, and NYSE. Register for access.

The Data-Planet repository contains over 18.9 billion datapoints from over 400 databases sourced from 70 public and private organizations. The datasets contained in Data-Planet are structured and homogenized to permit correlation of multiple, diverse indicators. The Data-Planet technology and information architecture provides powerful tools to interpret and visualize that data. The repository continues to grow regularly with the addition of new datasets drawn from public and private sources.

Provides users with drag-and-drop access to over 3 billion data series in economics, health, energy, demographics, finance, and more. Users can graze websites, such as the Bureau of Labor Statistics, UNdata, and Zillow and import data series into their own personal web-based account. dataZoa connections are live, so once a data series in selected, dataZoa will automatically import the most current data. Users also have the option of uploading and hosting their own original data. dataZoa can be used to view, analyze, share, download, and create charts and tabular displays. To get started, create a new account on the dataZoa website with your university email address.

International coverage of economics in journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews.

Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News Pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles.

Quantitative historical data covering American population, work and welfare, economic structure, governance, and international relations from colonial times to the present.

Thousands of time series covering more than 200 countries and areas. Includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages; exchange rate series; major Fund accounts series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS World Tables.

Unique collection of statistics covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. IHS is a collection of data sets taken from hundreds of disparate primary sources, including both official national and international abstracts. Content is divided into three geographical areas: (1) Africa, Asia, Oceania, (2) Americas, and (3) Europe. Tables can be downloaded in Excel format.

A comprehensive collection of legal and general databases, including cases, statutes, Shepard’s Citations, journal articles, and news. UVA Law students and faculty have access via password.

Information on over 35,000 current and former publicly traded companies, both from the US and from around the world. Company histories and over 200,000 annual reports in pdf, 30 years of stock prices, etc.

Full text (in PDF format) of all books, reports, periodicals, and statistical databases published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

ReferenceUSA provides numerous databases for business and consumer research. It offers access to data on over 54 million businesses and 319 million consumers.

Comprised of two databases: Directors and Governance for the S&P 1500 (1990's - present). Directors Data profiles board directors (e.g., name, age, tenure, gender, committee memberships, independence classification, service on other public company boards, shares owned, etc.). Governance data includes variables re. takeover defenses (classified boards, confidential voting, etc.) Register for access.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Tax Notes Today, Tax Notes, State Tax Today, State Tax Notes, Worldwide Tax Daily, Tax Notes International, Worldwide Tax Treaties. Users must register for an account with a virginia.edu email address while on-Grounds (or connected to the VPN).

A comprehensive commercial site from ThomsonWest, including cases, statutes, KeyCite, journal articles, and news. UVA Law students and faculty have access via password.

WRDS offers financial, economic, and marketing data, as well as these premium WRDS-enabled databases: AuditAnalytics, COMPUSTAT, CRSP, CUSIP, IBES, ISS (formerly RiskMetrics), TAQ. Register for access.