Arthur J. Morris Law Library
Principles of Legal Research Links
Chapter 1. Introduction: Context and Process
9
Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask <www.lib.berkeley.edu/TeachingLib/Guides/Internet/Evaluate.html>
10
Internet Archive <www.archive.org>
CyberCemetery <govinfo.library.unt.edu>
Google <www.google.com>
Yahoo! <search.yahoo.com>
Ask <ask.com>
* Bing [formerly Live Search] <www.bing.com>
11
Search Engine Showdown <www.searchengineshowdown.com>
Lexis Web <www.lexisweb.com>
Google Advanced Search <www.google.com/advanced_search>
12
* Clusty [no longer available]
Dogpile <www.dogpile.com>
GrabAll <www.graball.com>
* Google Directory [no longer available]
Yahoo! Directory <dir.yahoo.com>
Deep Web Research 2009 <www.llrx.com/features/deepweb2009.htm>
13
Infomine <infomine.ucr.edu>
* Librarians’ Internet Index <www.ipl.org> [merged with Internet Public Library]
* FindLaw <lp.findlaw.com>
Legal Information Institute <www.law.cornell.edu>
Wikipedia <www.wikipedia.org>
Westlaw <www.westlaw.com>
Lexis <www.lexis.com>
* Loislaw [now LoislawConnect] <estore.loislaw.com>
VersusLaw <www.versuslaw.com>
* LexisNexis Academic <www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/>
Westlaw Campus Research <campus.westlaw.com>
14
Fastcase <www.fastcase.com>
Casemaker <www.casemaker.us>
Westlaw Database Directory <directory.westlaw.com>
20
LexisNexis Searchable Directory of Online Sources <w3.nexis.com/sources/>
22
* Loislaw [now LoislawConnect] <estore.loislaw.com>
VersusLaw <www.versuslaw.com>
Casemaker <www.casemaker.us>
Fastcase <www.fastcase.com>
23
Public Library of Law <www.plol.org>
* PreCYdent [no longer available]
30
* Constitution of the United States (GPO) <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectiontab.action>
31
* HeinOnline <home.heinonline.org>
U.S. Constitution (FindLaw) <www.findlaw.com/casecode/constitution/>
38
Records of the Federal Convention of 1787 <lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwfr.html>
Madison’s Notes on the Debates in the Federal Convention <avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/debcont.asp>
* HeinOnline <home.heinonline.org>
39
Federalist Papers (THOMAS) <thomas.loc.gov/home/histdox/fedpapers.html>
Federalist Papers (Avalon Project) <avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/fed.asp>
Founders’ Constitution <press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/>
40
Elliot’s Debates in the Several State Conventions
<lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwed.html>
Constitution Society <www.constitution.org>
Founding Documents (Constitution Society) <www.constitution.org/cs_found.htm>
Liberty Library of Constitutional Classics (Constitution Society) <www.constitution.org/liberlib.htm>
America’s Historical Newspapers <www.readex.com>
43
State Constitutions (FindLaw) <www.findlaw.com/11stategov/indexconst.html>
46
NBER/Maryland State Constitutions Project <www.stateconstitutions.umd.edu>
Chapter 3. The Legislature, Part 1: Statutes
66
Statutory Interpretation: General Principles and Recent Trends
<www.fas.org/sgp/crs/misc/97-589.pdf>
67
* Public and Private Laws (GPO) <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=PLAW>
THOMAS <thomas.loc.gov>
70
* HeinOnline <home.heinonline.org>
Statutes at Large (Library of Congress) <lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwsl.html>
72
Revised Statutes (Library of Congress) <lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwsl.html>
75
United States Code (Office of the Law Revision Counsel) <uscode.house.gov>
United States Code (Legal Information Institute) <www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/>
* United States Code (GPO) <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionUScode.action?collectionCode=USCODE>
76
United States Code Classification Tables
<uscode.house.gov/classification/tables.shtml>
80
* State Legislatures Internet Links <www.ncsl.org/about-us/ncslservice/state-legislative-websites-directory.aspx>
83
Law by Source: State (Legal Information Institute)
<www.law.cornell.edu/states/listing.html>
* Findlaw: Cases and Codes <www.findlaw.com/casecode/>
87
Martindale.com [search "Groups & Topics"] <www.martindale.com>
Topical Index: State Statutes (Legal Information Institute)
<topics.law.cornell.edu/wex/state_statutes>
90
NCCUSL Drafts and Final Acts <www.law.upenn.edu/bll/ulc/ulc.htm>
* NCCUSL <www.uniformlaws.org>
Uniform Laws (LII) <www.law.cornell.edu/uniform/>
* Suggested State Legislation <www.csg.org/programs/policyprograms/SSL.aspx>
91
* National Center for Interstate Compacts <www.csg.org/ncic/>
Chapter 4. The Legislature, Part 2: Legislative Information
111
THOMAS <thomas.loc.gov>
LLSDC’s Legislative Source Book <www.llsdc.org/sourcebook/>
How Our Laws Are Made <thomas.loc.gov/home/lawsmade.toc.html>
Enactment of a Law <thomas.loc.gov/home/enactment/enactlawtoc.html>
* Learn About Congress ["The Legislative Process" no longer available]
<congress.indiana.edu/learn-about-congress>
112
* Legislative Branch Resources (GPO) [no longer available as a group]
* ProQuest Congressional [was LexisNexis Congressional] <congressional.proquest.com>
113
White House <www.whitehouse.gov>
* CQ Weekly <library.cqpress.com/cqweekly/>
National Journal <nationaljournal.com>
Roll Call <www.rollcall.com>
Hill <www.thehill.com>
* GalleryWatch [now part of CQ Roll Call]
114
* Congressional Bills (GPO) <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=BILLS>
115
Bills and Resolutions (Library of Congress)
<memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwhbsb.html>
Law Library of Congress <www.loc.gov/law/>
Center for Legislative Archives <www.archives.gov/legislative/>
* Bills and Resolutions (Center for Research Libraries) <catalog.crl.edu> [no direct link; search "bills and resolutions" and Congress number]
116
United States Senate <www.senate.gov>
United States House of Representatives <www.house.gov>
Quick Links to House and Senate Committee Hearings and Other Publications <www.llsdc.org/quick-links/>
* Congressional Hearings <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CHRG>
117
C-SPAN <www.c-span.org>
119
* Congressional Reports <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CRPT>
Overview of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set <www.llsdc.org/sch-v/#Overview>
120
U.S. Serial Set <memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwss.html>
CongressLine: The Committee Markup <www.llrx.com/congress/committeemarkup.htm>
122
Congressional Record: Content, History and Issues
<www.llsdc.org/sourcebook/docs/CRS-93-60.pdf>
Invisible Men (Slate) <www.slate.com/id/2138750/>
Not Live from Capitol Hill (Slate) <www.slate.com/id/2144780/>
123
* Congressional Record Index <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CRI>
* History of Bills <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=HOB>
* Congressional Record <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CREC>
124
* Bound Congressional Record <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CRECB>
Overview of the Congressional Record and Its Predecessor Publications <www.llsdc.org/cong-record/>
125
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates (Library of Congress) <memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lawhome.html>
126
* Congressional Documents <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CDOC>
* Presidential Signing Statements: Constitutional and Institutional Implications <www.fas.org/sgp/crs/natsec/RL33667.pdf>
127
* Congressional Committee Prints <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CPRT>
128
Congressional Budget Office <www.cbo.gov>
Government Accountability Office <www.gao.gov>
* GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions (GPO) <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=GAOREPORTS>
129
* Congressional Research Service Reports (University of North Texas Libraries) <digital.library.unt.edu/explore/collections/crsr/>
* Open CRS <opencrs.com>
* GalleryWatch [now part of CQ Roll Call]
Penny Hill Press <www.pennyhill.com>
Guide to CRS Reports on the Web <www.llrx.com/features/crsreports.htm>
* Access to CRS Reports <www.fas.org/sgp/crs/crs041807.pdf>
Selected Congresional Research Service Reports on Congress and Its Procedures <www.llsdc.org/crs-congress/>
131
Federal Legislative History Research: A Practitioner’s Guide to Compiling the Documents and Sifting for Legislative Intent <www.llsdc.org/Fed-Leg-Hist/>
132
Legislative Histories of Selected U.S. Laws on the Internet <www.llsdc.org/leg-hist>
133
THOMAS <thomas.loc.gov>
134
* Legislative Branch Resources (GPO) [no longer available as a group]
United States Senate <www.senate.gov>
United States House of Representatives <www.house.gov>
Quick Links to House and Senate Committee Hearings and Other Publications <www.llsdc.org/quick-links/>
GPO Access and THOMAS for Legislative Research
<www.llrx.com/columns/govdomain6.htm>
135
* ProQuest Congressional [was LexisNexis Congressional] <congressional.proquest.com>
138
* Congressional Quarterly Inc. (CQ) [now CQ Roll Call] <corporate.cqrollcall.com>
CQ Press Electronic Library <library.cqpress.com>
139
* GalleryWatch [now part of CQ Roll Call]
141
* Congressional Calendars <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CCAL>
Congressional Staff Directory <library.cqpress.com/csd/>
* Congressional Yellow Book <www.leadershipdirectories.com>
142
* Congressional Directory <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CDIR>
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-Present <bioguide.congress.gov>
143
Arizona State Legislature <www.azleg.gov>
* State Legislatures Internet Links <www.ncsl.org/about-us/ncslservice/state-legislative-websites-directory.aspx>
State Legislatures, State Laws, and State Regulations:
Website Links and Telephone Numbers <www.llsdc.org/state-leg/>
144
LexisNexis State Capital <web.lexis-nexis.com/stcapuniv/>
Pennsylvania General Assembly <www.legis.state.pa.us>
Jenkins Law Library <www.jenkinslaw.org>
145
State Legislative History Research Guides on the Web <www.law.indiana.edu/lawlibrary/research/guides/statelegislative/>
146
Initiative & Referendum Institute <www.iandrinstitute.org>
Chapter 5. The Executive Branch
163
* Federal Register (GPO) <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=FR>
Executive Orders and Proclamations
<www.llsdc.org/sourcebook/docs/CRS-95-772.pdf>
Presidential Directives: Background and Overview
<www.fas.org/sgp/crs/misc/98-611.pdf>
* Presidential Actions <www.whitehouse.gov/briefing-room/presidential-actions/>
164
* HeinOnline <home.heinonline.org>
American Presidency Project <www.presidency.ucsb.edu>
Executive Orders Disposition Tables
<www.archives.gov/federal-register/executive-orders/>
Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders <www.archives.gov/federal-register/codification/>
165
Presidential Directives and Executive Orders (FAS) <www.fas.org/irp/offdocs/direct.htm>
167
* Compilation of Presidential Documents <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CPD>
* Public Papers of the Presidents <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=PPP>
169
File Not Found: 10 Years After E-FOIA, Most Federal Agencies Are Delinquent <www.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/NSAEBB/NSAEBB216/>
U.S. Citizen and Immigration Services <www.uscis.gov>
170
U.S. Department of State <www.state.gov>
Federal Agency Directory (LSU) <www.lib.lsu.edu/gov/>
Federal Agency Index (WashLaw) <www.washlaw.edu/doclaw/executive5m.html>
USA.gov <www.usa.gov>
* OMB Policies for Federal Public Websites <www.howto.gov/web-content/>
171
Washington Information Directory <library.cqpress.com>
* United States Government Manual <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=GOVMAN>
172
* Carroll Publishing <www.carrollpub.com>
Federal Staff Directory <library.cqpress.com/fsd/>
Leadership Directories <www.leadershipdirectories.com>
175
Brief History Commemorating the 70th Anniversary of the Publication of the First Issue of the Federal Register
<www.archives.gov/federal-register/the-federal-register/history.pdf>
176
Federal Register Pages Published Annually <www.llsdc.org/attachments/wysiwyg/544/fed-reg-pages.pdf>
Research Guide to the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations <www.llsdc.org/fed-reg-cfr/>
178
* Federal Register <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=FR>
* HeinOnline <home.heinonline.org>
* Public Inspection Desk, Office of the Federal Register <www.federalregister.gov/public-inspection>
179
Federal Register Index
<www.archives.gov/federal-register/the-federal-register/indexes.html>
* Unified Agenda <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectiontab.action>
180
RegInfo.gov <www.reginfo.gov>
Regulations.gov <www.regulations.gov>
Committee on the Status and Future of Federal e-Rulemaking <ceri.law.cornell.edu/erm-comm.php>
182
* Code of Federal Regulations <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionCfr.action?collectionCode=CFR>
Electronic Code of Federal Regulations <ecfr.gpoaccess.gov>
184
* List of CFR Sections Affected (LSA) <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=LSA>
188
Manual for Administrative Law Judges <ualr.edu/malj/malj.pdf>
189
* Administrative Decisions (University of Virginia Library) <guides.lib.virginia.edu/administrative_decisions>
* HeinOnline <home.heinonline.org>
LLMC Digital <www.llmcdigital.org>
191
* Office of Legal Counsel (U.S. Department of Justice) <www.justice.gov/olc/>
192
Map of Federal Depository Libraries <catalog.gpo.gov/fdlpdir/FDLPdir.jsp>
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications <catalog.gpo.gov>
* Checklist of United States Public Documents: 1789-1909 <www.archive.org/details/checklistofunite01unitrich>
193
* GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) <www.gpo.gov/fdsys/>
CyberCemetery <govinfo.library.unt.edu>
Internet Archive <www.archive.org>
* Memory Hole [no longer available]
* Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) Classification Scheme <www.fdlp.gov/component/content/article/174-cataloging/856-sudoc-classification-scheme>
Fugitive Documents Elude Preservationists <tinyurl.com/cc87u5>
194
* RCFP Federal Open Government Guide <www.rcfp.org/federal-open-government-guide>
A Citizen’s Guide on Using the Freedom of Information Act and the Privacy Act of 1974 to Request Government Records <www.fas.org/sgp/foia/citizen.pdf>
* Freedom of Information Act Guide <www.justice.gov/oip/foi-act.htm>
195
BNA [now Bloomberg BNA] <www.bna.com>
CCH Inc. <www.cch.com>
RIA <ria.thomsonreuters.com>
198
State Government Information <www.loc.gov/rr/news/stategov/>
* State Blue Books <wikis.ala.org/godort/index.php/State_Blue_Books>
Council of State Governments <www.csg.org>
National Association of State Departments of Agriculture <www.nasda.org>
199
National Association of State Budget Officers <www.nasbo.org>
National Association of Secretaries of State <www.nass.org>
Association of State Correctional Administrators <www.asca.net>
National Association of State Energy Officials <www.naseo.org>
Environmental Council of the States <www.ecos.org>
National Association of State Auditors, Comptrollers and Treasurers <www.nasact.org>
Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies <www.fishwildlife.org>
National Governors Association <www.nga.org>
National Association of Insurance Commissioners <www.naic.org>
National Association of Attorneys General <www.naag.org>
American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators <www.aamva.org>
North American Securities Administrators Association <www.nasaa.org>
American Public Human Services Association <www.aphsa.org>
Federation of Tax Administrators <www.taxadmin.org>
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials <www.transportation.org>
National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners <www.naruc.org>
* Carroll Publishing <www.carrollpub.com>
Leadership Directories <www.leadershipdirectories.com>
200
Administrative Codes and Registers Section (NASS) <www.administrativerules.org>
* State Legal Sources on the Web
<www-personal.umich.edu/~graceyor/doctemp/statelaw.html>
201
National Governors Association <www.nga.org>
National Association of Attorneys General <www.naag.org>
202
* State Freedom of Information Laws <www.nfoic.org/state-freedom-of-information-laws>
* Open Government Guide <www.rcfp.org/open-government-guide>
* State List: The Electronic Source of State Publications <www.library.illinois.edu/doc/researchtools/guides/state/statelist.html>
203
State and Local Government on the Net <www.statelocalgov.net>
Municipal Code Corporation <www.municode.com>
* Municipal Codes Online (Seattle Public Library) [no longer available]
American Legal Publishing’s Code Library <www.amlegal.com/library/>
* Municipal Codes Web Library [now part of Municode.com]
International Code Council <www.iccsafe.org>
MADCAD.com <www.madcad.com>
Building Code Reference Library <www.reedconstructiondata.com/building-codes/>
Public.Resource.org <bulk.resource.org/codes.gov/>
* Carroll Publishing <www.carrollpub.com>
Leadership Directories <www.leadershipdirectories.com>
204
Index to Current Urban Documents <www.urbdocs.com>
Chapter 6. The Judiciary, Part 1: Introduction
219
* Universal Citation (ABA) [no longer available]
* AALL Citation Formats Committee [no longer available]
220
* Differences between Electronic and Paper West Reporters [not currently available]
224
Legal History: The Year Books <www.bu.edu/law/seipp/>
English Medieval Legal Documents <emld.usc.edu>
225
Justis <www.justis.com>
* English Reports (CommonLII) <www.commonlii.org/uk/cases/EngR/>
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey <www.oldbaileyonline.org>
Chapter 7. The Judiciary, Part 2: Case Law Sources
233
Supreme Court Historical Society <www.supremecourthistory.org>
* Supreme Court of the United States <www.supremecourt.gov>
SCOTUSblog <www.scotusblog.com>
234
Supreme Court Collection (LII) <www.law.cornell.edu/supct/>
* Supreme Court of the United States <www.supremecourt.gov>
235
SCOTUSblog <www.scotusblog.com>
* Information about Opinions (Supreme Court) <www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/info_opinions.aspx>
237
* Bound Volumes (Supreme Court) <www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/boundvolumes.aspx>
238
* HeinOnline <home.heinonline.org>
* HeinOnline: Searching 101 [formerly "Searching in HeinOnline"] <heinonline.org/HeinDocs/SearchinginHOL.pdf>
241
* AltLaw [no longer available]
U.S. Supreme Court Center (Justia) <supreme.justia.com>
* LexisONE [no longer available]
* PreCYdent [no longer available]
Public Library of Law <www.plol.org>
US Supreme Court Opinions (FindLaw) <www.findlaw.com/casecode/supreme.html>
Fastcase <www.fastcase.com>
* Loislaw [now LoislawConnect] <estore.loislaw.com>
VersusLaw <www.versuslaw.com>
* Creating the Federal Judicial System
<www.fjc.gov/public/pdf.nsf/lookup/creating.pdf/$file/creating.pdf>
242
* Court Locator (U.S. Courts) <www.uscourts.gov/court_locator.aspx>
United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit <www.cafc.uscourts.gov>
United States Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces <www.armfor.uscourts.gov>
* United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims <www.uscourts.cavc.gov>
243
United States Court of Federal Claims <www.uscfc.uscourts.gov>
United States Court of International Trade <www.cit.uscourts.gov>
United States Tax Court <www.ustaxcourt.gov>
245
* AltLaw [no longer available]
Justia <www.justia.com>
Public Library of Law <www.plol.org>
* PreCYdent [no longer available]
* LexisONE [no longer available]
252
* State Court Organization 2004 <bjs.ojp.usdoj.gov/content/pub/pdf/sco04.pdf>
* State Court Structure Charts (NCSC) <www.courtstatistics.org/Other-Pages/State_Court_Structure_Charts.aspx>
* Court Statistics Project (NCSC) <www.courtstatistics.org>
253
* State Court Web Sites (NCSC)
<www.ncsc.org/Information-and-Resources/Browse-by-State/State-Court-Websites.aspx>
254
Oklahoma State Courts Network <www.oscn.net>
North Dakota Supreme Court <www.ndcourts.gov>
* PreCYdent [no longer available]
Public Library of Law <www.plol.org>
* LexisONE [no longer available]
State Resources (FindLaw) <www.findlaw.com/11stategov/>
New York Official Reports Service <government.westlaw.com/nyofficial/>
New York Court of Appeals Cases and Resources <caselaw.findlaw.com/courts/New-York>
New York Court of Appeals (LII) [no longer updated]
255
West’s National Reporter System <lawschool.westlaw.com/federalcourt/NationalReporterPage.asp>
259
* National Tribal Justice Resource Center [offline]
Tribal Court Clearinghouse <www.tribal-institute.org>
Chapter 8. The Judiciary, Part 3: Case Research
274
Westlaw’s “Field Searching” Capability <tinyurl.com/cvlfsv>
277
* Loislaw [now LoislawConnect] <estore.loislaw.com>
VersusLaw <www.versuslaw.com>
Casemaker <www.casemaker.us>
* PreCYdent [no longer available]
278
* LexisONE [no longer available]
Oklahoma State Courts Network <www.oscn.net>
288
* West’s ALR Digest [no longer available]
Chapter 9. The Judiciary, Part 4: Other Court Information
312
* Federal Rulemaking (U.S. Courts) <www.uscourts.gov/RulesAndPolicies.aspx>
313
Procedural Documents (House Committee on the Judiciary) <judiciary.house.gov/about/procedural.html>
Federal Rules (LII) <www.law.cornell.edu/rules/>
316
* Court Locator (U.S. Courts) <www.uscourts.gov/court_locator.aspx>
LLRX Court Rules, Forms and Dockets <www.llrx.com/courtrules>
* Court Rules (Supreme Court) <www.supremecourt.gov/ctrules/ctrules.aspx>
317
* Federal Sentencing Guidelines Manuals <www.ussc.gov/Guidelines>
318
* State Court Web Sites (NCSC)
<www.ncsc.org/Information-and-Resources/Browse-by-State/State-Court-Websites.aspx>
LLRX Court Rules, Forms and Dockets <www.llrx.com/courtrules>
319
* Center for Professional Responsibility (ABA) <www.americanbar.org/groups/professional_responsibility.html>
* Links to Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility Pages <www.americanbar.org/groups/professional_responsibility/resources/links_of_interest.html>
American Legal Ethics Library <www.law.cornell.edu/ethics/listing.html>
321
* Judicial Ethics and Regulation <www.americanbar.org/groups/professional_responsibility/resources/judicial_ethics_regulation.html>
322
* Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 <gdc.gale.com>
* Where to Find Briefs of the Supreme Court of the U.S. <www.supremecourt.gov/oral_arguments/briefsource.aspx>
323
US Supreme Court Center (FindLaw) <supreme.lp.findlaw.com>
* Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases <www.americanbar.org/publications/preview_home.html>
* Supreme Court of the United States <www.supremecourt.gov>
* Oral Argument Transcripts
<www.supremecourt.gov/publicinfo/press/viewpressreleases.aspx?FileName=pr_09-28-04.html>
324
Oyez: U.S. Supreme Court Media <www.oyez.org>
* PACER <www.pacer.gov>
Free and Fee Based Appellate Court Briefs Online <www.llrx.com/features/briefsonline.htm>
Audio at the National Archives, About Oyez <www.oyez.org/about/>
325
* Findlaw <lp.findlaw.com>
CNN <www.cnn.com>
* Briefs (Office of the Solicitor General) <www.justice.gov/osg/briefs/index.html>
326
Jury Verdict Research <www.juryverdictresearch.com>
* Docket (Supreme Court) <www.supremecourt.gov/docket/docket.aspx>
* United States Law Week <www.bna.com/united-states-law-week-p5949/>
* PACER <www.pacer.gov>
* PACER Case Locator <www.pacer.gov/pcl.html>
327
* CourtLink <litigator.lexisnexis.com/Courtlink/>
Courtport <www.courtport.com>
* Public Access to Court Records: State Links <www.ncsc.org/topics/access-and-fairness/privacy-public-access-to-court-records/state-links.aspx>
Online Access to Court Records <papers.ssrn.com/abstract=1107412>
328
* Court Locator (U.S. Courts) <www.uscourts.gov/court_locator.aspx>
* State Court Web Sites (NCSC)
<www.ncsc.org/Information-and-Resources/Browse-by-State/State-Court-Websites.aspx>
Judicial Staff Directory <library.cqpress.com/jsd/>
Leadership Directories <www.leadershipdirectories.com>
* Judicial Nominations <www.usdoj.gov/olp/judicialnominations112.htm>
329
* National Tribal Justice Resource Center [not currently available]
Biographical Directory of Federal Judges <www.fjc.gov/public/home.nsf/hisj>
331
* Government Forms <www.usa.gov/Topics/Reference-Shelf/forms.shtml>
* LexisOne [now LexisNexis Communities List of Free Forms] <www.lexisone.com/lx1/store/catalog?action=rootFreeCategory&tcode=PORTAL>
Forms and Contracts <forms.lp.findlaw.com>
Revisiting Jury Instructions (Part 1) <www.llrx.com/columns/reference38.htm>
Revisiting Jury Instructions (Part 2) <www.llrx.com/columns/reference39.htm>
Jury Instructions Update <www.llrx.com/columns/reference53.htm>
Chapter 10. Secondary Sources, Part 1: Encyclopedias, Restatements, and Texts
341
ALI Certificate of Incorporation <www.ali.org/doc/charter.pdf>
342
How ALI Works [formerly About the American Law Institute] <www.ali.org/index.cfm?fuseaction=about.instituteworks>
343
* HeinOnline <home.heinonline.org>
American Law Institute <www.ali.org>
344
Past and Present ALI Projects <www.ali.org/doc/past_present_ALIprojects.pdf>
345
Witkin Legal Institute <www.witkin.com>
347
Nolo <www.nolo.com>
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses—Full Text <www.proquest.com>
349
Hollis Catalog (Harvard University) <hollis.harvard.edu>
Library of Congress Online Catalog <catalog.loc.gov>
* ABA-Approved Law Schools <www.americanbar.org/groups/legal_education/resources/aba_approved_law_schools.html>
USA Law Schools by State <stu.findlaw.com/schools/usaschools/>
lib-web-cats <www.librarytechnology.org/libwebcats/>
WorldCat (free) <www.worldcat.org>
WorldCat (FirstSearch) <www.oclc.org/firstsearch/>
351
* IndexMaster <www.indexmaster.org>
* Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 <gdc.gale.com>
352
Early American Imprints <www.readex.com>
Early English Books Online (EEBO) <eebo.chadwyck.com>
* Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) <gdc.gale.com>
Google Book Search <books.google.com>
Internet Archive’s Text Archive <www.archive.org/details/texts>
Chapter 11. Secondary Sources, Part 2: Periodicals
358
Law Journals: Submissions and Ranking <lawlib.wlu.edu/LJ/>
* Little Things <www.ideasinactiontv.com/tcs_daily/2002/02/little-things.html>
360
On-Line Directory of Law Reviews and Scholarly Legal Publications <www.lexisnexis.com/lawschool/prodev/lawreview/>
361
Berkeley Electronic Press <www.bepress.com>
NELLCO Legal Scholarship Repository <lsr.nellco.org>
Social Science Research Network <www.ssrn.com>
362
* LexisNexis Academic <www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/>
Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek (Electronic Journals Library)
<rzblx1.uni-regensburg.de/ezeit/>
363
* HeinOnline <home.heinonline.org>
364
Legal Collection <www.ebscohost.com>
Virginia Journal of Law and Technology <www.vjolt.net>
* Legal Journals (USC) [no longer available]
Academic Law Reviews and Journals (FindLaw) <stu.findlaw.com/journals/>
Harvard Law Review <www.harvardlawreview.org>
Yale Law Journal <yalelawjournal.org>
Michigan Law Review <www.michiganlawreview.org>
Virginia Law Review <virginialawreview.org>
365
JSTOR <www.jstor.org>
Google Scholar <scholar.google.com>
An Examination of Citation Counts in a New Scholarly Communication Environment <www.dlib.org/dlib/september05/bauer/09bauer.html>
368
NCJRS Abstracts Database <www.ncjrs.gov/abstractdb/>
* Criminal Justice Periodicals Index [now ProQuest Criminal Justice] <www.proquest.com>
369
PubMed <www.pubmed.gov>
* Web of Knowledge <wokinfo.com>
Academic Search Complete <www.ebscohost.com>
General OneFile [formerly InfoTrac OneFile] <www.gale.cengage.com/onefile>
ProQuest Central <proquest.com>
IngentaConnect <www.ingentaconnect.com>
JSTOR <www.jstor.org>
370
Periodicals Archive Online <pao.chadwyck.com>
Periodical Index Online <pio.chadwyck.com>
SSRN eLibrary <papers.ssrn.com>
* bepress Legal Repository <law.bepress.com>
Current Law Journal Content (CJLC) [ceased]
Current Index to Legal Periodicals <lib.law.washington.edu/cilp/cilp.html>
371
Contents Pages from Law Reviews and Other Scholarly Journals [no longer available]
372
Google Alerts <www.google.com/alerts>
Yahoo! Alerts <alerts.yahoo.com>
* Bloglines [no longer available]
* NewsGator [no longer available]
law.com <www.law.com>
373
Law News Now <abajournal.com/news>
* JURIST <www.jurist.org>
* FindLaw Legal Pulse <legalnews.findlaw.com>
New York Times <www.nyt.com>
Washington Post <www.washingtonpost.com>
* Factiva <www.dowjones.com/factiva/>
Google News <news.google.com>
* NewsVoyager [ceased]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers <www.proquest.com>
374
America’s Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922
<www.newsbank.com/readex/?content=96>
* 19th Century U.S. Newspapers <gdc.gale.com>
NewspaperARCHIVE.com <newspaperarchive.com>
* Google News <news.google.com>
375
Mondaq <www.mondaq.com>
LawTRIO <www.infosourcespub.com>
Faculty Blog (University of Chicago Law School) <uchicagolaw.typepad.com>
Wisconsin Truck Accident Law Blog <www.wisconsintruckaccidentlawblog.com>
376
SCOTUSblog <www.scotusblog.com>
Blawg Directory <www.abajournal.com/blawgs>
Justia Blawg Search <blawgsearch.justia.com>
Technorati <www.technorati.com>
* Google Blog Search <www.google.com/blogsearch>
Washburn Discussion Groups <www.washlaw.edu/listservs/>
CataList <www.lsoft.com/lists/listref.html>
Chapter 12. Secondary Sources, Part 3: Reference Resources
380
* HeinOnline <home.heinonline.org>
* Law Dictionary (FindLaw) (1996) <dictionary.findlaw.com>
Law.com Dictionary (1995) <dictionary.law.com>
* Nolo's Free Dictionary of Law Terms and Legal Definitions <www.nolo.com/dictionary>
381
* Oxford English Dictionary <www.oed.com>
382
The Bluebook <www.legalbluebook.com>
383
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation <www.law.cornell.edu/citation/>
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations <www.legalabbrevs.cardiff.ac.uk>
Eighty Years: The Uniform System of Citation <www.legalbluebook.com/Public/Introduction.aspx>
384
Martindale-Hubbell Lawyer Locator <www.martindale.com>
The Martindale-Hubbell Story <www.llmc.com/Historical_AARef.asp#page_18>
lawyers.com <www.lawyers.com>
385
Thomson Legal Record <legalrecords.findlaw.com>
FindLaw Lawyer Directory <lawyers.findlaw.com>
Marquis Who’s Who <www.marquiswhoswho.com>
Best Lawyers <www.bestlawyers.com>
* Law Firms Yellow Book <www.leadershipdirectories.com>
Vault <www.vault.com>
386
NALP Directory of Legal Employers <www.nalpdirectory.com>
National Legal Aid and Defender Association <www.nlada.org>
National District Attorneys Association <www.ndaa.org>
Association of American Law Schools <www.aals.org>
* Quick Lawyer Search <www.legaldirectories.com>
Legal Associations & Organizations (FindLaw) <www.findlaw.com/06associations/>
Bar Associations and Other Legal Associations (WashLaw Web) <www.washlaw.edu/bar/>
Associations Unlimited <www.gale.cengage.com>
AssocationExecs <www.associationexecs.com>
387
* Judicial Business of the United States Courts <www.uscourts.gov/Statistics.aspx>
* Court Statistics Project (NCSC) <www.courtstatistics.org>
388
* Legal Profession Statistics (American Bar Association) <www.americanbar.org/resources_for_lawyers/profession_statistics.html>
* Uniform Crime Reports <www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/ucr/ucr>
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics <www.albany.edu/sourcebook/>
* U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics <bjs.ojp.usdoj.gov>
U.S. Census Bureau <www.census.gov>
Census of Population and Housing <www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/decennial/>
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) <www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/>
Statistical Abstract of the United States <www.census.gov/compendia/statab/>
389
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book <www.census.gov/compendia/smadb/>
County and City Data Book <www.census.gov/statab/www/ccdb.html>
FedStats <www.fedstats.gov>
Historical Statistics of the United States <hsus.cambridge.org>
* ProQuest Statistical Insight <congressional.proquest.com/statistical>
Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics) <www.bls.gov/bls/other.htm>
Gallup, Inc. <www.gallup.com>
390
Polling the Nations <poll.orspub.com/>
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research<www.ropercenter.uconn.edu>
* BRB Publications Inc. Free Resource Center <www.brbpub.com/free-public-records/>
NETR Public Records Online Directory <publicrecords.netronline.com>
* SearchSystems.net Public Record Locator <publicrecords.searchsystems.net>
391
* EDGAR (SEC) <www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml>
National Association of Secretaries of State <www.nass.org>
LLRX.com <www.llrx.com>
395
* A Guide to Montana Legal Research <courts.mt.gov/content/library/guides/guide.pdf>
396
New Jersey Legal Research Handbook supplement
<law-library.rutgers.edu/ilg/njlrhb5.php>
404
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law <www.mpepil.com>
* Hein Online <home.heinonline.org>
407
* Treaties and International Agreements Online <www.oceanalaw.com>
International Agreements (Department of State) <www.state.gov/s/l/treaty/caseact/>
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties <digital.library.okstate.edu/kappler/>
408
United States Trade Representative <www.ustr.gov>
Tax Treaties (Internal Revenue Service) <www.irs.gov/businesses/international/>
* Treaties in Force <www.state.gov/s/l/treaty/tif/>
409
Treaties primer (U.S. Senate) <www.senate.gov/artandhistory/history/common/briefing/Treaties.htm>
410
* Treaties (U.S. Senate Foreign Relations Committee) <www.foreign.senate.gov/treaties/>
Digest of International law (U.S. Department of State) <www.state.gov/s/l/c8183.htm>
411
* Foreign Relations of the United States (University of Wisconsin) <uwdc.library.wisc.edu/collections/FRUS>
* Foreign Relations of the United States (Department of State) <history.state.gov/historicaldocuments>
United Nations Treaty Collection <treaties.un.org>
Researching Customary International Law, State Practice and the Pronouncements of States Regarding International Law <www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/Customary_International_Law.htm>
412
* Treaties and Agreements (Organization of American States) <www.oas.org/dil/treaties_and_agreements.htm>
Treaty Office (Council of Europe) <conventions.coe.int>
Hague Conference on Private International Law <www.hcch.net>
United Nations Audiovisual Library of International Law <www.un.org/law/avl/>
Electronic Information System for International Law (EISIL) <www.eisil.org>
* Frequently-Cited Treaties and Other International Instruments (University of Minnesota Law School) <library.law.umn.edu/researchguides/most-cited.html>
* Multilaterals Project (Fletcher School) <fletcher.archive.tusm-oit.org/multilaterals/>
Human Rights Library (University of Minnesota) <www.umn.edu/humanrts/>
413
World Treaty Index <db.lib.washington.edu/wti/wtdb.htm>
* Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General <treaties.un.org/pages/ParticipationStatus.aspx>
International Humanitarian Law -- Treaties and Documents [Geneva Conventions] <www.icrc.org/ihl>
Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species (CITES) <www.cites.org>
414
* Ratifications and Reservations (U.N. High Commissioner for Human Rights) <www.unhchr.ch/tbs/doc.nsf/Statusfrset?OpenFrameSet>
À la Recherche des Travaux Préparatoires <www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/Travaux_Preparatoires1.htm>
415
International Court of Justice <www.icj-cij.org>
Project on International Courts and Tribunals <www.pict-pcti.org>
International Judiciary in Context: A Synoptic Chart (PICT) <www.pict-pcti.org/publications/synoptic_chart.html>
International Courts & Tribunals Library (WorldLII) <www.worldlii.org/int/cases/>
International Criminal Court <www.icc-cpi.int>
416
International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) <www.icty.org>
* International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR) <www.unictr.org>
Special Court for Sierra Leone <www.sc-sl.org>
International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (ITLOS) <www.itlos.org>
* International Criminal Courts for the Former Yugoslavia, Rwanda and Sierra Leone <www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/International_Criminal_Courts1.htm>
417
European Court of Justice <curia.europa.eu>
European Court of Human Rights <www.echr.coe.int>
* Inter-American Commission on Human Rights <www.oas.org/en/iachr/>
Inter-American Court of Human Rights <www.corteidh.or.cr>
418
African International Courts and Tribunals <www.aict-ctia.org>
* DomCLIC <www.domclic.org>
i.lex: The Legal Research System for International Law in U.S. Courts <ilex.asil.org>
UNILEX <www.unilex.info>
Institute of International Commercial Law (Pace Law School) <www.cisg.law.pace.edu>
Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts (CLOUT) <www.uncitral.org/uncitral/en/case_law.html>
ECOLEX <www.ecolex.org>
* Refworld <www.unhcr.org/cgi-bin/texis/vtx/refworld/rwmain>
Reports of International Arbitral Awards <www.un.org/law/riaa/>
419
Kluwer Arbitration <www.kluwerarbitration.com>
United Nations <www.un.org>
* Non-Governmental Organizations (NGO) Guide (Duke University Libraries) <guides.library.duke.edu/ngo_guide>
420
Yearbook of the United Nations <unyearbook.un.org/>
UN Documentation Centre <www.un.org/documents/>
United Nations Official Document System <documents.un.org>
Yearbook of the International Law Commission <untreaty.un.org/ilc/publications/yearbooks/yearbooks.htm>
United Nations Juridical Yearbook <www.un.org/law/UNJuridicalYearbook/>
UNCITRAL Yearbook <www.uncitral.org/uncitral/en/publications/yearbook.html>
Max Planck Yearbook of United Nations Law <www.mpil.de/ww/en/pub/research/details/publications/institute/mpyunl.cfm>
421
UNBISNET: United Nations Bibliographic Information System <unbisnet.un.org>
* Access UN: Index to United Nations Documents and Publications <www.readex.com/readex/product.cfm?product=13>
United Nations Documentation: Research Guide <www.un.org/Depts/dhl/resguide/>
United Nations System of Organizations <www.unsystem.org>
World Trade Organization <www.wto.org>
Selected U.N. Resources and Research Tools <www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/UN_Resources_Research_Tools.pdf>
GATT Digital Library: 1947-1994 <gatt.stanford.edu>
422
WorldTradeLaw.net <www.worldtradelaw.net>
European Union <europa.eu>
423
EUR-Lex <eur-lex.europa.eu>
Organization of American States <www.oas.org>
Council of Europe <www.coe.int>
Union of International Associations <www.uia.be>
* International Organizations and Related Information (University of Michigan Library) [no longer available]
European Union Legal Materials: An Infrequent User’s Guide <www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/European_Union1.htm>
European Union Law: An Integrated Guide <www.llrx.com/features/eulaw2.htm>
European Union Internet Resources <www.lib.berkeley.edu/doemoff/govinfo/intl/gov_eu.html>
424
* ASIL Electronic Resource Guide <www.asil.org/erg/>
GlobaLex <www.nyulawglobal.org/Globalex/>
Chapter 14. The Law of Other Countries
431
JuriGlobe: World Legal Systems (University of Ottawa) <www.juriglobe.ca>
Primer on the Civil Law System
<www.fjc.gov/public/pdf.nsf/lookup/CivilLaw.pdf/$file/CivilLaw.pdf>
433
Market Research (International Trade Administration) <www.export.gov/mrktresearch/>
Judicial Assistance (Department of State) <travel.state.gov/law/judicial/judicial_702.html>
World Factbook <https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/>
Europa World Plus <www.europaworld.com>
Statesman’s Yearbook Online <www.statesmansyearbook.com>
434
International Encyclopaedia of Laws <www.ielaws.com>
Foreign Law Guide <www.foreignlawguide.com>
435
GlobaLex <www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/>
Comparative and Foreign Law (LLRX) <www.llrx.com/comparative_and_foreign_law.html>
* Tables of Contents (Peace Palace Library) <www.peacepalacelibrary.nl/collection/e-resources/tables-of-content/>
436
Concourts.net <www.concourts.net>
* Constitutions of the Countries of the World <www.oceanalaw.com>
* International Constitutional Law <www.servat.unibe.ch/icl/>
Constitution Finder <confinder.richmond.edu>
* The Rise of Modern Constitutionalism, 1776-1849 <www.modern-constitutions.de>
Martindale.com <www.martindale.com>
Basic Guide to Researching Foreign Law <www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/Foreign_Law_Research1.htm>
437
NATLEX <natlex.ilo.org>
Collection of National Copyright Laws <www.unesco.org/culture/copyrightlaws/>
*WIPO Lex [replacing Collection of Laws for Electronic Access (CLEA)] <www.wipo.int/wipolex/>
Legifrance <www.legifrance.gouv.fr>
German Law Archive <www.iuscomp.org/gla/>
Foreign Law Translations <www.utexas.edu/law/academics/centers/transnational/work_new/>
* Bulletin on Constitutional Case-Law <www.codices.coe.int>
Foreign Law: Subject Law Collections on the Web <www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/Foreign_Collections1.htm>
438
Google Translate <translate.google.com>
* Bing Translator [succeeding Yahoo! Babel Fish] <www.microsofttranslator.com>
Quality of Legal Dictionaries: An Assessment <arno.unimaas.nl/show.cgi?fid=13383>
439
* Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations [no longer available online]
* OSCOLA: The Oxford Standard for Citation Of Legal Authorities <www.law.ox.ac.uk/publications/oscola.php>
Foreign & International Law Resources (Harvard Law School) <www.law.harvard.edu/library/research/guides/int_foreign/web-resources/>
Guide to Law Online (Library of Congress) <www.loc.gov/law/help/guide.php>
World Legal Information Institute <www.worldlii.org>
* Country-by-Country Guide to Foreign Law Research (Yale Law School)
<library.law.yale.edu/research/guides/country-guide>
440
* Doing Business (World Bank) <www.doingbusiness.org/law-library>
441
British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII) <www.bailii.org>
Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII) <www.canlii.org>
443
* UK Public General Acts <www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga>
British History Online <www.british-history.ac.uk>
Justis <www.justis.com>
* Calculate Dates Based on Regnal Years <people.albion.edu/imacinnes/calendar//Regnal_Years.html>
* Legislation.gov.uk [replacing UK Statute Law Database] <www.legislation.gov.uk/>
Consolidated Statutes and Regulations (Canada) <laws.justice.gc.ca>
Canadian Legal Information Institute <www.canlii.org>
Acts and Ordinances of the Interregnum, 1642–1660
<www.british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=606>
444
United Kingdom Parliament <www.parliament.uk>
Parliament of Canada <www.parl.gc.ca>
UK Government <www.direct.gov.uk>
Government of Canada <www.gc.ca>
445
* Government Gazettes Online
<www-personal.umich.edu/~graceyor/doctemp/gazettes/>
Washington D.C. Embassies <www.embassy.org/embassies/>
Foreign Embassy Information & Publications <www.state.gov/s/cpr/rls/>
About This Guide
This page provides links to Web sites discussed or mentioned in Kent C. Olson, Principles of Legal Research (West, 2009). It was last modified on December 4, 2012. URLs marked with asterisks have changed since publication of the book.
Please send updates or comments to legalresearch@virginia.edu

Loading...
