This is the "Business and Law - Databases (A-Z)" page of the "Business and Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business and Law  

Guide to business research resources available at the U.Va. Law School.
Last Updated: May 17, 2012 URL: http://libguides.law.virginia.edu/business Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Business and Law - Databases (A-Z) Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Arthur J. Morris Law Library

Business Databases A to Z

  • Audit Analytics (via WRDS)  Icon
    AuditAnalytics provides detailed audit information on over 1,200 accounting firms and 15,000 publicly registered companies. Know auditing details and fees paid for specific services. Create reports by auditor, fees, location, and industry. Contact a Law Librarian for access.
  • Bloomberg Law  Icon
    A comprehensive commercial site from Bloomberg, including dockets, cases, statutes, financial and corporate information and news. UVA Law students and faculty have access via password. Request password. Contact BLAW rep Beth Goldfinger (egoldfinger@bloomberg.net) with questions about the service.
  • Business Source Complete  Icon
    Topics such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
  • COMPUSTAT (via WRDS)  Icon
    COMPUSTAT North America provides historic data on over 24,000 active and inactive publicly held U.S. & Canadian companies. It provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items. Contact a Law Librarian for access.
  • Corporate Library (via WRDS)  Icon
    The Corporate Library offers annual historical data captures for each proxy year beginning in 2001. Information includes: Corporate Board Structure and Independence; Director Positions and Committee Assignments; Executive Compensation; Director Compensation; Audit Fees; Corporate Ownership; and Takeover Defenses. Contact a Law Librarian for access.
  • CRSP (via WRDS)  Icon
    CRSP provides unparalleled historic stock price data for companies listed on AMEX, NASDAQ, and NYSE. Contact a Law Librarian for access.
  • Datastream  Icon
    International economic and financial data in time series format. Includes debt and equity information, commodities, futures, options, exchange rates, interest rates, stock market indices and more. Contact a Law Librarian for access.
  • EconLit  Icon
    International coverage of economics in journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews.
  • Euromonitor Passport  Icon
    Monitors industry trends and provides strategic analysis, market size and market share for products across key countries.

    - Unique data sets developed specifically for each industry
    - Long historic and forecast data series
    - Analyst reports on the characteristics of each country
    - Regional trend comparisons
  • Eventus via WRDS  Icon
    Eventus performs event studies using data read directly from CRSP stock databases or pre-extracted from any source. It provides user control over estimation periods and cumulative return windows, a choice of raw, comparison period mean adjusted, market adjusted or market model abnormal returns. Simple statements allow the researcher to run a complete event study, from reading the CRSP stock database to print results, with a program as short of as four lines.
  • Factiva  Icon
    Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles.
  • Historical Statistics of the United States  Icon
    Quantitative historical data covering American population, work and welfare, economic structure, governance, and international relations from colonial times to the present.
  • International Financial Statistics  Icon
    Thousands of time series covering more than 200 countries and areas. Includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages; exchange rate series; major Fund accounts series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS World Tables.
  • Law Journals on WestlawNext  
      
      Icon
    Search law journals from the mid-80s to present via WestlawNext.
  • LexisNexis for Law Schools  
      
      Icon
    Includes SEC filings and other administrative materials, company and industry profiles, news, and more. UVA Law students & faculty can access via password.
  • Mergent Online  Icon
    Information on over 35,000 current and former publicly traded companies, both from the US and from around the world. Company histories and over 200,000 annual reports in pdf, 30 years of stock prices, and much more.
  • OECD iLibrary  Icon
    Full text (in PDF format) of all books, reports, periodicals, and statistical databases published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
  • Plunkett Research  Icon
    Profiles of selected industries with trends, data and news along with reports on companies in the industry.
  • ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States  Icon
    The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight  Icon
    Formerly LexisNexis Statistical Insight, contains statistics produced by federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental organizations, including U.S. federal statistical publications (1973 - ), international statistical publications from the UN, EU, OECD, etc. (1983 - ), and U.S. state government, business, and research institute statistical publications (1980 - ).
  • Risk Metrics (via WRDS)  Icon
    Comprised of two databases: Directors and Governance for the S&P 1500 (1990's - present). Directors Data profiles board directors (e.g., name, age, tenure, gender, committee memberships, independence classification, service on other public company boards, shares owned, etc.). Governance data includes variables re. takeover defenses (classified boards, confidential voting, etc.) Contact a Law Librarian for access.
  • Securities and Exchange Commission
    Access company filings and a range of administrative materials regarding the interpretation and implementation of U.S. securities laws.
  • Tax Analysts  
      
      Icon
    Tax Notes Today, Tax Notes, State Tax Today, State Tax Notes, Worldwide Tax Daily, Tax Notes International, Worldwide Tax Treaties.
  • Westlaw for Law Schools  Icon
    In addition to a wide range of federal, state, administrative, and SRO materials regarding securities laws (including SEC filings) this resource also includes relevant treatises and company profiles (Hoovers). UVA Law students & faculty can access via password.
  • WRDS  Icon
    WRDS offers financial, economic, and marketing data, as well as these premium WRDS-enabled databases: AuditAnalytics, COMPUSTAT, CRSP, CUSIP, Eventus, IBES, Risk Metrics, TAQ. Contact a Law Librarian for access.
 

About This Guide

This guide lists business resources available at UVA. Please note that some of these resources may only be available by contacting a librarian.  Icons listed with each database denote level of accessibility. “UVA only” databases can also be used off-Grounds by current University of Virginia students, faculty, and staff, though off-Grounds access must be enabled.

Contacts: 

Jon Ashley
jaa6c@virginia.edu

John Roper
jhr8v@virginia.edu


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip